Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2009, 01:10 PM   #15
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,127
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
Glad to hear that you are out of the dark!

I'm not sure about your unit, but the Intelli-power 9245 fan in my trailer only comes on if the temperature gets high or if I have a large load on it.
I can make the fan come on by turning on a lot of lights in my trailer. I have around 30 bulbs total, the fan comes on after I light around 20-25 of them.
__________________

__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 06:23 PM   #16
2 Rivet Member
 
1979 31' Sovereign
Stockbridge , Georgia
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
I have the XANTREX 60 amp, haven't really put a load on it yet but I'll keep an eye on it.
__________________

__________________
mikvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 08:43 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
SilverGate's Avatar

 
2007 23' Safari SE
San Diego , California
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikvw View Post
...Thank you for all, your help & expertise is truly appreciated.
Now all the overhead lights are working, no smoke, no spark, no fire, feeling pretty good thanks to you guys!

Now, is the fan supposed to come on & stay on all the time or only as needed?
I have the Xantrex XADC-60A unit and the fan comes on only when needed (when a load is placed on it). A bonus, though, is that the fan is quieter than my previous Parallax converter.

Glad you found the problem and thanks for posting about it.
__________________
SilverGate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2009, 10:40 PM   #18
2 Rivet Member
 
1979 31' Sovereign
Stockbridge , Georgia
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
i think I spoke too soon! I got lights but they only last about 3 hrs., even with the it hooked up to the house. Its late, I'll try again tomorrow after work.
Nite All
__________________
mikvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 12:44 AM   #19
Rivet Master
 
SilverGate's Avatar

 
2007 23' Safari SE
San Diego , California
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,490
Right... well, check the fuses again... and if it is the same fuse that blows, you will have to figure out why it is blowing...

As others have mentioned, use a voltmeter to check all connections... also make sure you have correctly connected the Xantrex and provided adequate grounding for it as mentioned in the article that I linked to you.

(I am assuming you have proper 30 amp power supply from the house.)

Good luck and please keep us informed.
__________________
SilverGate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2009, 12:34 PM   #20
2 Rivet Member
 
1979 31' Sovereign
Stockbridge , Georgia
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
I'm going to go home & check my home power supply first, get a volt meter & then get back to work on it. My theory is, since I know nothing at all about 'lectricity, is you are probably right, my house power is not 30 amp. I'll keep you posted.
__________________
mikvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 07:54 AM   #21
2 Rivet Member
 
1979 31' Sovereign
Stockbridge , Georgia
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
I went home and took a look at the house fuse box and sure enough the box is only a 15 amp box. But I have another question, if I have it hooked up to the house (15 amp) & I'm only running the interior lights, should'nt the battery still last longer than a few (3) hrs? Or is the converter not recv. the correct amps to work properly?
Once again I am learning this stuff.
__________________
mikvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 08:08 AM   #22
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,127
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
If you are only running a few lights in the trailer, the 15 amp service to the converter should be more then enough. If you wanted to run the Air Conditioner the 15 amps would be a problem.

It sounds like you solved the problem of getting power from the battery to the lights and then ran out of battery. At this time I would suspect that your converter is not functioning. I would check the input (120 volts AC) to the converter and the output (+12 volts DC) at this time. The converter should supply +12 volts to the DC distribution panel. From there the voltage is sent to all the 12 volt circuits as well as the battery.
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 09:44 AM   #23
2 Rivet Member
 
1979 31' Sovereign
Stockbridge , Georgia
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
I'll check that after work, gotta get a voltmeter. Let you know what I find.
Thank You
__________________
mikvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 07:28 PM   #24
just jd.
 
5cats's Avatar

 
2007 20' Safari SE
San Diego , California
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 298
DC fuses?

Perhaps the DC fuses are missing/toast?
Click image for larger version

Name:	XADC_internal.png
Views:	74
Size:	73.2 KB
ID:	81966
Check out #8 in the diagram: several 30A fuses are located under the DC cover of the converter itself.
These may not be supplied with the new unit...

There may also be a corresponding set of DC battery fuses on the DC distribution panel fed by the converter.

Cheers,
-jd.
__________________
2007 20' Safari SE/LS // 12063 //CA-5// ("ex") 2916
5cats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 10:15 PM   #25
2 Rivet Member
 
1979 31' Sovereign
Stockbridge , Georgia
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
I see only 3 / 30 amp fuses w/ 1 bank empty. According to the manual it requires only 3 fuses, maybe I should put in 1 more?
__________________
mikvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 10:45 AM   #26
2 Rivet Member
 
1979 31' Sovereign
Stockbridge , Georgia
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 42
Sorry for the 3 month break but here goes.... problem solved, the unit ( new Xantrex) is working. The problem was a lack of 30amp power to the 'stream, guess my 20amp house line didn't have enough umph to get the converter to kick in & slow charge the battery. To test my theory I bought a 30amp gen. and BINGO! It works! now alli have to do is replace the old 30a agu fuse block with the newer ato style fuse block. Thanks to everyone who helped w/ suggestions & comments
Thank You,

next project: fixin' the water pump!@#%@!#!
__________________
mikvw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 02:17 PM   #27
banjobill
 
wmarsha's Avatar
 
2000 30' Limited
battle ground, , Washington
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 510
mikvw: I aint buying it. the only real difference between your shore connection and the gen is that the generator has no Earth ground. I am not saying your shore connection is okay, what I am saying is that there is something else wrong when you connect with your shore line besides the ampacity. If the new converter needed more amperage to operate, it would have blown fuses/operated circuit breakers between itself and the house service panel. If there is some kind of resistive fault between the converter and the grounding system of the trailer (and hence to the grounding system of the shore line: ie: the house) then perhaps the converter was not seeing enough voltage to operate correctly; whereas with the generator, there is no resistive fault because the trailer/generator combination is not earth grounded. I would continue checking out your wiring...
ol' bill the AS newbie
__________________
wmarsha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 04:07 PM   #28
CLOUDSPLITTER "Tahawas"
 
ROBERT CROSS's Avatar

 
2003 25' Classic
Zanadude Nebula , WNY
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,153
Images: 1
Our experience....

FWIW...........http://www.airforums.com/forums/f449...ems-55549.html
__________________

__________________
PFC.....

“After all these years the reason I continue to love Thanksgiving.....I still sit at the kids table.”
RLC

Sandra wanted to go to Cleveland on vacation,
but I’m the Husband, so we went to Cleveland.
RLC
ROBERT CROSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converter, xantrex


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inteli power or Xantrex RandyG Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 2 06-10-2008 08:43 AM
Hitch Stolen. . . GRRRRR The Flintstones Hitches, Couplers & Balls 65 09-07-2007 03:22 PM
Shore power and battery power problems jfremstad Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 05-03-2007 09:23 AM
Xantrex Link-10 Choice battery monitor mswartz Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 2 03-13-2004 06:26 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.