Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2014, 09:52 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
1972 27' Overlander
Denver , North Carolina
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 750
Images: 4
Need new Fuse block

Hey Folks, I have an Intellepower using the old 1972 fuse block. It's shot. There is one connection that has no fuse it was hardwired in, see picture attached. I need to replace it and am looking for options. Suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1442.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	313.2 KB
ID:	213853  
__________________

__________________


Lucky Dave, Denver NC
mccrosti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 10:02 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
1963 19' Globetrotter
Currently Looking...
Moline , Illinois
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 635
I like Blue Sea brand , a very high quality marine product. West marine carries a lot of Blue Sea products and I see now that they are showing up in some of the RV catalogs.
__________________

__________________
63air is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 10:20 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
MarkR's Avatar
 
1951 21' Flying Cloud
1960 24' Tradewind
Folsom , California
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 725
Images: 12
same opinion as 63air.
I have the 12 circuit.
It's well engineered and designed.

BLUE SEA SYSTEMS ST Blade Fuse Blocks | West Marine
__________________

Aluminumbskull with Led Balloon in Drag
***
Birch Plywood and Aluminum go together like
Peanut Butter and Chocolate
MarkR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 11:01 PM   #4
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkR View Post
same opinion as 63air.
I have the 12 circuit.
It's well engineered and designed.

BLUE SEA SYSTEMS ST Blade Fuse Blocks | West Marine

Those are well made units. I use them regularly. Most of what Blue Sea Systems makes is of high quality.

Progressive Dynamics also makes a very nice 12VDC distribution block with indicator lights to let you know which fuss is blown.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2014, 12:30 PM   #5
3 Rivet Member
 
AirConditioner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 152
Fuse block alternative

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrosti View Post
Hey Folks, I have an Intellepower using the old 1972 fuse block. It's shot. There is one connection that has no fuse it was hardwired in, see picture attached. I need to replace it and am looking for options. Suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks!
I just completed this on the road last week. I used a 6 circuit automotive block from Advanced Auto for $10.00 . Here's the full post:



http://www.airforums.com/forums/f449/bye-bye-univolt-hello-wfco-122059.html
__________________
AirConditioner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2014, 01:27 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,591
I would guess that the hardwired circuit with no fuse (and wire nut) might have been the charge circuit from the tow vehicle. It should be fused too.

The blade fuse panels mentioned above are all good ones.

The metal block with wires on the upper left side of the photo (and in the negative side of the power system) is the shunt for the ammeter in the control panel. It could be re used, but might just as well be eliminated in your new fuse block configuration. It is kind of a pain to substitute for and those old analog control panel ammeters were not very useful anyway. A new digital one, or a Tri Metric battery monitor will give you much better information.
__________________
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2014, 01:53 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,648
Don't they make DC circuit breakers that don't require the use of disposable fuses?

Perry
__________________
perryg114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 12:03 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by perryg114 View Post
Don't they make DC circuit breakers that don't require the use of disposable fuses?

Perry
Yes but there are two problems.

Most of the simple ones are self reseting and if there is a dead short on the line, they will trip, reset, trip, reset and on and on which is a bad thing and dangerous in the long run.

The DC breakers which look like normal AC circuit breakers with a little switch handle are really expensive and hard to come by. In most cases they are overkill for the job.

A simple DC automotive type fuse is a good solution overall. It is inexpensive and easily replaced. Often they last the lifetime of the device or wiring protected. If you have circuits which are blowing fuses commonly, something else is wrong and should be repaired.

I like the new fuse panel provided with my replacement PD 4645 converter/charger. It has an LED for each fuse position. If the fuse blows, the LED lights up allowing you to easily find which one it is. Very clever.
__________________
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2014, 12:32 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
AldeanFan's Avatar
 
1977 23' Safari
Niagara on the Lake , Ontario
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 653
Images: 3
I used a 12 circuit fuse block from the auto parts store,
I figure by the time it wears out there will be something new and better, the glass fuses lasted 35 years, not I have auto blade fuses.

Grote makes really good stuff. I get my stuff from a truck supply shop in town.
__________________

__________________
1977 Safari Land Yacht
2005 Toyota Tundra SR5
2010 Ford Flex Ecoboost
AldeanFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broken Fuse Block In Distribution Panel - How Best To Repair montanaandy Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 12 06-01-2015 09:01 PM
Need a Fuse Block diagram for a 1990 345 Tommoran Mechanics Corner - Engines, Transmission & More... 2 06-03-2013 09:59 AM
new fuse block bilby05 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 8 01-16-2008 06:47 PM
Fuse block driving me nuts! bkahler Mechanics Corner - Engines, Transmission & More... 11 07-08-2007 09:52 PM
Fuse Block replacement - help Craig Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 6 10-13-2004 04:01 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.