Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-26-2004, 04:10 AM   #1
Rivet Master

1974 27' Overlander
1954 26' Romany Cruiser
1960 26' Overlander
Rockingham County , New Hampshire
Send a message via AIM to balrgn Send a message via Yahoo to balrgn
Lightbulb Low battery power

I am new to this, so please forgive the obvious type of question. I have a '75 Tradewind. I believe it has a new inverter, I will have to check. I was working inside with most of the lights on as well as the heat. I am plugged into campus power, after 6 or so hours, the battery power had reduced the lighting to about 10%. Is this normal? Wouldn't the inverter be able to handle the drain on the battery. I have a 2002 Coachman and had and never experienced a drop in battery strength while plugged into AC?
balrgn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 04:26 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2013 31' Classic
Crossville , Tennessee
somethin's wrong

If you are plugged into shore power, first suspect for me would be the convertor. It should be able to produce enough power to run what you've spoken of. If it is OK, then the batteries would be the next question mark. Are they maintained (full of electrolyte), are they full of sulfation, are they old, etc.
Check the power distribution panal to ensure clean contacts. Check the power cord to ensure clean contact at both ends, does the trailer have a convertor shut off switch, and has it been turned off to quite the hum?
jerry
steelbird312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 04:55 AM   #3
Retired Moderator

1992 29' Excella
madison , Wisconsin
jerry has some good tips.

in addition, there are two fuses that could be causing your problem. one on the positive 12 volt output of the converter and one on the negative. the negative fuse is usually near the converter on the black lead on its own fuse block.