Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-06-2012, 09:31 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1959 24' Tradewind
Monterey , California
inverter to power fridge while driving?

Hi everyone, I just put a new fridge in the SowBug and a thought came to me. It's a Dometic with the 12v control panel, and 110v or propane driven. I realize most people run propane safely while driving, and I also know how to put a bag of ice in there before we leave the house. This fridge draws 110-120v at 5A and that comes out to 600watts, so I'm wondering why I couldn't run an inverter driven by the AS battery, charged by the truck? I do understand that when I drop the voltage to 12v and increase the wattage of the inverter then I could drop the amperage draw, and of course use large cables. I'm not an electrical engineer or even an electrician, so for any input I would be very grateful. Thank you , Doug.
duggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 09:44 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
600 watts / 12 volts = 50 amps. That is a whole lot of 12 volt power. Even if you put the inverter in the engine compartment of the truck, it is a really big demand on the alternator. If you try to get 50 amps back to your trailer to run the inverter there, good luck. Takes a big cable and good ground system back to the truck, and very heavy duty electrical connectors.

Bottom line: anything can be done, given time, and money, but this is just not the best way to spend either.

Even the 12 volt option on some RV refrigerators takes in the range of 25 amps, and does not really cool all that well. It can work somewhat in a Motorhome, where you can run larger wires to the refrigerator easier than you can in a TT, but even then, it is not really a great idea and many refrigerators no longer are available with that option at all.
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote