Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2011, 04:07 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
2005 25' International CCD
Fitchburg , Massachusetts
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Inverter outlets not working

Hi All,

I have recently returned from a 5200 mile trip with my '05 International 25', and on my return trip I noticed that my Inverter outlets were all dead.
I got along without them for the remainder of the trip, and I am now trying to figure this out.
Today I checked all the fuses and found none blow. what should I check next?

FinnSwede
__________________

__________________
FinnSwede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 04:29 PM   #2
CLOUDSPLITTER "Tahawas"
 
ROBERT CROSS's Avatar

 
2003 25' Classic
Zanadude Nebula , WNY
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,153
Images: 1
Inverter or Converter?


Bob
Attached Images
  
__________________

__________________
PFC.....

“After all these years the reason I continue to love Thanksgiving.....I still sit at the kids table.”
RLC

Sandra wanted to go to Cleveland on vacation,
but I’m the Husband, so we went to Cleveland.
RLC
ROBERT CROSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 04:35 PM   #3
Colonial Airstream NJ
Airstream Dealer
 
Colonial Airstream's Avatar
 
1968 17' Caravel
Lakewood , New Jersey
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 570
Images: 79
A 2005 International CCD 25' SS if equipped with the optional 600W inverter system would have the inverter installed under the front L-Lounge. Lift up the R.S. Cushion and you should see the access panel.

Check the actual inverter itself. There is a overlead/reset buttin on it.
__________________
Patrick Botticelli - Colonial Airstream 1121 Route 88 Lakewood, NJ 08701 - 1-800-265-9019 www.colonialairstream.com
Colonial Airstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 04:38 PM   #4
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
Check input and output voltage on the inverter unit itself... if it has input voltage but no useful output voltage, it may have become a paperweight. If it has no input voltage there's a supply problem, if it has 120v output voltage you should test its capacity with something cheap and durable like a lamp, it's an unlikely failure mode but it could still be a paperweight and have close to 120v output, just no usable amperage.

Finally if you find that its output is good, there's a wiring or breaker issue downstream of it.
__________________
— David

Zero Gravitas — 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto — 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. — Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 07:02 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
TBRich's Avatar

 
2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,483
Images: 64
Make sure you didn't accidentally turn your inverter off. Our inverter outlets only work when we have the inverter switch turned on.

I don't know where the inverter on/off switch is in your rig...ours is near the stove top on the wall next to the tank monitors and the solar monitor.
__________________
TB & Greg and Abbey Schnauzer
AirForums #21900 . Membership Chair, 4C
Unit #3954
Travel Log: AZBambi...On the Road Again
TBRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 07:43 PM   #6
1 Rivet Member
 
2005 25' International CCD
Fitchburg , Massachusetts
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Thanks for all the replies!
I have I think, 2 electrical outlets which are labeled "inverter". These plugs should work when no electrical hookup is used.
As to the question of "inverter or converter?", I guess I must have an inverter, although I don't remember ever seeing it.
I have the converter (7300 series) located under the front lounge with a brown steel cover under the right seat.
I am still not sure where the inverter would be.
The inverter switch is located over the kitchen sink, and it is turned on.
__________________
FinnSwede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 08:43 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
TBRich's Avatar

 
2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,483
Images: 64
OK...if your inverter is turned on and there is no electricity to the inverter outlets...then you need to locate the inverter itself and determine if it has blown a fuse, needs to be reset or whatever. Typcially you would not use your inverter unless you do not have shore power (or generator power). If you have shore power you can use your regular outlets as they will be powered through the shore connection and converter.

We also have a 600w factory inverter...enough to run the TV, charge phone and laptops, etc...it will not handle anything that requires more than 600w or if you have more than 600w in cumulative loads.
__________________
TB & Greg and Abbey Schnauzer
AirForums #21900 . Membership Chair, 4C
Unit #3954
Travel Log: AZBambi...On the Road Again
TBRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 05:21 AM   #8
1 Rivet Member
 
2005 25' International CCD
Fitchburg , Massachusetts
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
I will look for the inverter today.
I'm going to look for an access panel in the lounge as suggested by Patrick from Colonial.
Perhaps the inverter is under the lounge and behind the converter with an access panel under the cushion.
__________________
FinnSwede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 01:59 PM   #9
1 Rivet Member
 
2005 25' International CCD
Fitchburg , Massachusetts
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Again, thank you to all who have responded.
I lifted the cushion in my lounge which is above my converter and found not only the inverter, but a sub woofer as well.
The inverter is a "600 Watt Pure Sine Wave" made by WFCO.
It has 3 lights on the front panel which are not lit, and what looks from above to be a breaker. I have not been able to reset the breaker, and may have to remove the inverter from it's hole so that I can see what is going on with this breaker. The toggle switch on the breaker does not move.
Thanks again for all the thoughtful advise. I have owned my AS for 5 years and am still learning new information about it!
__________________
FinnSwede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 02:14 PM   #10
3 Rivet Member
 
alclad's Avatar
 
1961 16' Bambi
Wilmington , DE
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 133
Images: 46
maybe this will help....

WFCO Pure Sine Wave Inverters
__________________
alclad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 04:14 PM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Tallahassee , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 37
Liquid Level Meter

I don't know where to enter this question? Where can I purchase Liquid Level Meters for my control panel on my 1974. The Airstream part number is 05362.
__________________

__________________
Never expect too much from too little.
JimWeilhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heart Interface inverter manual needed malconium Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 2 05-07-2014 12:57 PM
RM2500 just stopped working TouringDan Refrigerators 6 09-25-2011 11:44 PM
1963 safari where is the inverter and battery Theburrs Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 9 09-23-2011 11:13 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.