Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2012, 12:10 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
1972 Argosy 20
Mayville , Michigan
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Images: 3
Install new converter

I hope this is where I ask questions . . . Hi there, I'm a new guy and I'm stuck . . . Have 1972 Argosy, and I want to upgrade the Converter that contains fuses for trailer brakes, running lights and interior lights. I want to install new intelligent converter. How do I integrate the new converter to the fuse box of the old converter?? Is it possible to wire from battery to the new converter then to the old converter to incorporate the existing fuse box?? ...Echogram
__________________

__________________
Echogram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 12:18 PM   #2
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
This is exactly the right place for this sort of question.

You can find a number of detailed walk-throughs with photographs of the work from people who've replaced the original Univolts with modern converters. It seems the best thing to do it to buy a fuse block when you buy the converter, and wire the 12V system to that fuse block, then supply the fuse block with the lines coming from the new converter.

That's what was done with my trailer before I bought it, and it works fine... the fuses are readily accessible now in a wall-mounted panel near the converter.

I don't think those fuses have anything to do with the trailer brakes or running lights, though... those systems should be independent of the Univolt (though the battery does directly energize the breakaway switch.)
__________________

__________________
David

Zero Gravitas 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 12:56 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Wabbiteer's Avatar
 
1973 27' Overlander
1972 29' Ambassador
St. Paul , Minnesota
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,912
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 2
Originally on my project to speed things up after the converter died I sliced the fusebox and mounting cage off the old univolt converter using a high-speed cutoff tool. Then found out I had to replace 72.5% of the trailer to be able to enjoy using it... currently about halfway done

There are relatively inexpensive combination generic fusebox-converter panels available similar to what's found on new trailers and pop-up campers and such, but the quality really suffers some. The best DC fuse and circuit breaker options would be whats available for marine use, for boats.

__________________

Wabbiteer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 01:27 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
You do not want to fuse the line going to the trailer brakes with any thing other than the fuse(s) that are in the battery lead circuit. Usually 50 amp, sometimes 30 amp.
All other circuits in the trailer should be fused according to the wire size.
The external lighting on the trailer is not wired to the converter. It is powered by the TV.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 01:38 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Gene's Avatar
 
2008 25' Safari FB SE
Grand Junction , Colorado
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by TG Twinkie View Post
The external lighting on the trailer is not wired to the converter. It is powered by the TV.
That means the tail lights, brake lights, turn signals, license plate light and courtesy lights. Not the patio and step lights.

Gene
__________________
Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 02:40 PM   #6
3 Rivet Member
 
pgr32e's Avatar
 
1974 27' Overlander
Sault ste Marie , Ontario
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 165
Images: 6
Here was my solution, that way I kept the ammeter function even though it isn't the best, it still sort of works, and the circuit fuses are new blade types......Phil
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC1334.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	47.2 KB
ID:	159210   Click image for larger version

Name:	_DSC1341.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	67.8 KB
ID:	159211  

__________________
pgr32e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 02:48 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
vswingfield's Avatar
 
1983 34' Excella
1967 24' Tradewind
Little Rock , Arkansas
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,773
Images: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgr32e View Post
Here was my solution, that way I kept the ammeter function even though it isn't the best, it still sort of works, and the circuit fuses are new blade types......Phil
I like it. You even have a handle so you can carry your fuse panel around with you.

Seriously though, nice job.
__________________
Vaughan
vswingfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 09:45 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
rogerdodger's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Fresno/Clovis , California
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 685
Hi, echogram. I too am upgrading my 12 volt system. I ordered a new PD9260 and fuse panel from Randy at Best converter. My plan is to locate the new converter in the bathroom where the old one was, because that is where the wires come from the trailer. Also, the converter needs 110 volts AC, and there is an existing plug there. I am going to use a new fuse box, and am still deciding where inn the bath closet to put it. Good luck on you upgrade. Ask lots of questions here on the forum, great people with lots of help.
__________________
Roger
Air# 29488
rogerdodger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 10:05 PM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Phoenix , Arizona
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 470
You don't want fuses on trailer brakes. If anything, a circuit breaker could be used, but I've never seen, or needed one on trailer brakes.
__________________
M2HB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 11:39 AM   #10
1 Rivet Member
 
1972 Argosy 20
Mayville , Michigan
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Images: 3
Install New Converter Plan

Thanks everyone for the resopnes to my delima as to the installation of a new converter. (Just in from our antique show/sale and I'm tellin you... we are really getting lots of inquires and comments about this Argosy... I even show some of the customers through the camper!!) I did discover I need a fuse box. So for the time being and untill I can make a more permanent installation, I plan to wire the new converter to the battery and leave the old converter wired to the battery too. I will disconnect the AC line to the old comverter and plug the new converter into the AC outlet... Echogram,Stan
__________________
Echogram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 12:01 PM   #11
1 Rivet Member
 
1972 Argosy 20
Mayville , Michigan
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6
Images: 3
Just discovered the process to have pictures in the photo gallery... I've posted three photo of the outside of the Argosy... Just to think this was given to me to use as storage... I'm blessed!! ... Echogram
__________________

__________________
Echogram is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.