Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2014, 08:26 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
Woodyacme's Avatar
 
1996 30' Land Yacht
Flagler Beach , Florida
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 25
I may have "messed up"

I believe that I had some electrical issues since sometimes the electrical step was not coming down, and some of the DC lights were only working from time to time. I am not sure what "that" issue was, however, now after my latest flubber, something major is now wrong.

I was under the assumption that the large 3 prong plug was 220. I bought a female receptacle that matched the plug from the RV. I tapped the plug from my 220 line for my welder. Plugged in the RV to the 220 and left it for about 7 or 8 hours.

NOW, most of the DC electrical does not work, and some of the AC electrical does not work. Any suggestions? I have not started checking fuses, but I think that the "box" that converts the AC to DC is the culprit.

Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Steve Woodin
Florida
1996 30' Land Yacht
Woodyacme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 08:32 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Aviator's Avatar

 
1997 34' Limited
1970 27' Overlander
South of Atlanta , Georgia
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,655
Images: 2
Your Airstream was designed for 110v and the plug is a 30amp 110v. Hopefully the damage is limited to fuses and doesn't extend to melted wiring.
__________________

__________________
Craig and Carol
1997 34' Excella 1000
1970 27' Overlander, International
2009 Ford F150 5.4L
ProPride hitch with 1400# bars

AIR 41028
TAC GA-8
WBCCI 10199
Past President Southeastern Camping Unit (12)
Aviator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 08:32 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
lsbrodsky's Avatar
 
2012 25' FB International
Trent Woods , North Carolina
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,687
The 3 prong RV plug is 120, not 220. No telling what you have fried with your efforts. Suggest you get an RV electrician to look everything over.
Larry
__________________
lsbrodsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 09:06 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
Woodyacme's Avatar
 
1996 30' Land Yacht
Flagler Beach , Florida
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 25
Melted wiring...

I don't smell any melted wiring or anything of the such.

Where would I start with the fuses. The ones between the drivers seat and the passenger seat? Are there any fuses or fusible link by where the shore wire is connected to the RV?
__________________
Steve Woodin
Florida
1996 30' Land Yacht
Woodyacme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 11:12 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,591
You most likely have toasted your converter/charger which changes 120 volt AC power to 12 volt DC power. They don't like double input voltage. Hard to say if it caused any problems on the 12 volt side prior to burning out.

If your refrigerator was on, you easily may have burned out the 120 volt heating element. Same with the water heater.

There is some potential you damaged some or all of the 120 volt circuit breakers, especially the GFCI one (s).

Sorry to say it is not "I may have messed up" but it is most likely correct to say it with the "may" taken out. Repairs probably will be expensive.

Sorry for your problems though.
__________________
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 01:50 PM   #6
Regular Guy
 
NavyCorpsman's Avatar
 
1978 31' Sovereign
Hot Springs , Arkansas
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 572
You probably cooked the rectifier in the converter. If you have a surge protector, that would have caught it. When the converter fries, it has that distinctive "electrolytic" smell. That you don't smell anything is a good sign. Check for the simple stuff first. Fuses, Breakers, Surge protector. I agree with all in having an RV electrician check it out. Hope its simple and an easy fix. I fried a portable stereo in my early days with 220v. Scared me half to death. I walked away but had to sing to myself the rest of the day......
__________________
NavyCorpsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 02:36 PM   #7
ShinyPete
 
ShinyPete's Avatar
 
2014 27' Flying Cloud
Bushnell , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 316
It most likely didn't take 7 or 8 hours but 7 or 8 milliseconds. I did that years ago on our 50 amp motorhome, plugged 30 amp adapter into matching plug at a fairgrounds wired for something else. As I recall it took out 3000 watt Xantrex inverter/converter, micro/convection oven, 2 tube tvs, vcr, stereo,etc,etc. 😣

After all was replaced I installed a surge protector that wouldn't deliver improperly wired power.

As mentioned already, start at fuse panel and test with a meter one circuit at a time (or get someone qualified to do it). You may have taken out devices but not circuits if that makes sense.


Sent from my iPhone using Airstream Forums
__________________
ShinyPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 02:48 PM   #8
cwf
Rivet Master
 
cwf's Avatar
 
1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5,934
Images: 2
The stuff works on 'smoke and mirrors'.. if you break the mirror or let out the magic smoke, it is all over.

Suggest you spend the money to get yourself electrically checked out.. But if that advice is no good... do you have a properly wired outlet to connect to?
__________________
Peace and Blessings..
Channing
WBCCI# 30676
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 03:27 PM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
Woodyacme's Avatar
 
1996 30' Land Yacht
Flagler Beach , Florida
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 25
I have re-wired the outlet for 30 amp, 120V.

I do not have a lot of experience in the AC/DC arena (RV's) so this part of it is new to me. I have an RV repair guy coming over to take a look. The refrig and hot water heater were not on at the time, in fact, nothing was on at the time. The lights for the microwave are now out, and the auto step is not working, but was only working from time to time, prior to plug in.

I will start with the AC/DC converter and move into the coach from there. The front A/C unit is working (has worked all day today) and the rear one wants to work, but seems to have a motor frozen up due to sitting. I do not think that things are as bad as could have been. Some things I think needed replacing anyway.

I will be open to more suggestions if anyone has some, I will start one circuit at a time and will update you when I have some answers, which may take a couple of days.

Thanks all for the help so far.
__________________
Steve Woodin
Florida
1996 30' Land Yacht
Woodyacme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 03:51 PM   #10
cwf
Rivet Master
 
cwf's Avatar
 
1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5,934
Images: 2
Put a good converter in there.. not a 'stock' one...
__________________
Peace and Blessings..
Channing
WBCCI# 30676
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 04:55 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
carl2591's Avatar
 
2005 31' Classic
Garner, , North Carolina
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Woodyacme View Post
I have re-wired the outlet for 30 amp, 120V.

I do not have a lot of experience in the AC/DC arena (RV's) so this part of it is new to me. I have an RV repair guy coming over to take a look. The refrig and hot water heater were not on at the time, in fact, nothing was on at the time. The lights for the microwave are now out, and the auto step is not working, but was only working from time to time, prior to plug in.

I will start with the AC/DC converter and move into the coach from there. The front A/C unit is working (has worked all day today) and the rear one wants to work, but seems to have a motor frozen up due to sitting. I do not think that things are as bad as could have been. Some things I think needed replacing anyway.

I will be open to more suggestions if anyone has some, I will start one circuit at a time and will update you when I have some answers, which may take a couple of days.

Thanks all for the help so far.
the AC compressors tend not to freeze up they are 'hard to start".. try smacking the comp with the wooden butt of a hammer couple time sorta hard. If they don't work try a hard start kit to see if that will loosen it up.

Over time the valves will stick and the start circuit is not enough amps to bump it over.

the hard start kit is like a kick in the mouth by a pissed mule.. only harder

if that dont work its time to change the unit. !!
__________________
Carl, Raleigh NC
2-24-16 got a 2005 Classic 31D
Timeshare owner/user since '99
TUG2.net check it out for good rental deals
2003 F-250 SD, CC, 7.3L PowerStroke
WBCCI#1691, Piedmont Unit #161, Region #3
carl2591 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 05:14 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
tjdonahoe's Avatar
 
2013 31' Classic
billings , Montana
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,843
This would be like putting 120 down the neutral line,everything which was on might be toast..3 Wires 1 neutral, 1 120Vo , 1 ground.. Very easy to do once!!
__________________
tjdonahoe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 08:43 PM   #13
2 Rivet Member
 
Woodyacme's Avatar
 
1996 30' Land Yacht
Flagler Beach , Florida
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 25
tjdonahoe: I wired the outlet with 220 because it looked very similar to my welder and also the dryer & stove cords. I was unaware that it was ONLY a 110v system. Since I had the 220v power within 5 feet of where she is parked, I just "assumed" that it was a 220v system.

Fortunately, the only thing that was "on" was the microwave (plugged in and time blinking) but upon checking today, I have NO 12v system working at all. I will start tomorrow with checking the each fuse individually. I looked at the converter (where the 110v cord is connected in the trunk) and the neutral wire is has "scorched brown" so I will start there and see if I have any power from that point forward. I think that might be the problem (or one of them) and move inward from there.

good night to all! Will have some news tomorrow...
__________________
Steve Woodin
Florida
1996 30' Land Yacht
Woodyacme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2014, 08:45 PM   #14
2 Rivet Member
 
Woodyacme's Avatar
 
1996 30' Land Yacht
Flagler Beach , Florida
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 25
Bit of an unexplained situation...

I charged the single battery under the hood, it has not been holding a charge very well, will be replacing it soon, however, I left the battery switch on last night (since I did not see anything working when I turned it on) and this morning, the interior lights were on, they did not come on when I flipped the switch (shore power is disconnected)

So my question is this:
1. what battery(ies) run the lights when not connected to shore power? the single battery or the 2 that are wired together (I assumed it was the 2 together, and the single battery was the one for starting the motor)

2. Is there some sort of delay, relay, auto-breaker, safety that takes time before the DC power turns on? When I flip the battery switch next to the door, I hear a click under the dash somewhere. Almost like it blows a breaker, then it re-sets after a period of time...

3. In examining the book that came with the RV, it says that it is pre-wired for solar with the wires being "tucked" somewhere behind the refrigerator. Does anyone know about this?

I should have an update tomorrow afternoon. THANKS EVERYONE for the assistance so far! I certainly have strapped on a set of training wheels with this one...
__________________

__________________
Steve Woodin
Florida
1996 30' Land Yacht
Woodyacme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
May day! May day! I have a leaking Argosy bpappas Argosy Motorhomes 6 08-08-2011 10:00 PM
I think I messed up my batteries altamont Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 26 01-11-2009 01:24 PM
Display modes messed up. thecatsandi Forum Admin, News and Member Account Info 3 12-10-2006 10:47 AM
I think I just messed up my photos--help! dmreilly10000 Forum Admin, News and Member Account Info 6 10-20-2006 01:37 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.