Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2014, 04:56 PM   #29
Rivet Master
 
JimGolden's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
1977 31' Excella 500
Berkeley Springs , West Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,619
Images: 7
Get the whole panel

I changed my 34' Avion triple axle over to 50amp last year. I also used Progressive Dynamics.

Take a look at this. This is what I did. They sell a completely new panel in which you throw out ALL the old stuff and go brand new.

Ultimate All-in-One 240V, 50 Amp AC/DC Power Distribution Panel

Rather than trying to mix and match the new with the old, I just redid it all. The new unit works slick as a whistle. Their "Charge Wizard" thing really does the batteries good.

I realize it's probably too late for you now, but this is a nice solution.

Best of luck,
__________________

__________________
- Jim
JimGolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 04:33 PM   #30
3 Rivet Member
 
1971 31' Sovereign
Indian Wells , California
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 195
I know this thread is a little bit old but I'll try anyway.

I think I'm going to do this to my '71 Sovereign. I bought the Boondocker and the Parallax FB9 fuse box but I'm having a difficult time hooking up the blue wire. Somewhere on here it said to hook it up to the negative, then I saw hook it up to the positive. It's probably something simple but I would like the ammeter to work and it won't with the Parallax.

When I took the fuse panel off my Univolt IV, the grey wire fuse connector had a wire out of the backside that went deep into the Univolt somewhere. It looks like the Univolt changed in 1972 because mine is a little bit different.

So the question is:

Airline- Where did you attach the other end of the grey wire connection to? If I wired it like yours, I would have a 6" piece of wire out the back of the fuse panel?

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
CraigCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 05:11 PM   #31
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
You need a shunt for the ammeter to work. The Univolts had such a shunt. It looks like a copper bar or plate with connection points on it 2 for the larger wire, 2 for the smaller wire.
The shunt is wired in series with either the negative or positive battery wire. Usually the negative side. The ammeter connects to the smaller screws and is polarity sensitive.
The ammeter detects the very minor voltage drop across the copper bar. Then reads it out in amps. The larger the load the greater the reading on the ammeter.


Sent from my iPod touch using Airstream Forums
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 05:28 PM   #32
3 Rivet Member
 
1971 31' Sovereign
Indian Wells , California
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 195
Thanks, I got the ammeter part. The problem is really the blue wire. I don't know where it's supposed to attach to on the Parallax. Positive, negative, a fuse? I attached it to a fuse this morning and it popped. No wonder because the fuse in the Parallax is a 20A and I think the blue wire needs a 40A. I can put a 40A inline fuse but I still don't know where it goes to. The service manual says it goes to the stereo, the front ceiling fan and the tow vehicle.

Here is a picture of my Univolt fuse panel without fuses, front and back. You can see on the picture of the back, there's a wire. That wire went into the guts of the Univolt. Now that I have a Boondocker, I don't know where to wire it to. Or maybe I can't use it and I get no power light?



__________________
CraigCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 07:38 PM   #33
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
Measure the voltage on the wire in question. Referenced to common/ground. It appears to be connected to the buss on the Univolt. If you read 12 or more volts, it could be used for the power on light. Turn off the converter and see if it goes to zero volts. If so, it should work for the power on light.


Sent from my iPod touch using Airstream Forums
__________________

__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converter fuse blowing (new converter) wannaroam Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 28 07-06-2015 03:39 PM
New 3 stage converter install mayco Classic Motorhomes 3 05-03-2014 03:14 PM
Install new converter Echogram Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 10 05-29-2012 12:01 PM
InteliPower Converter Install Questions DPeakMD Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 9 06-03-2004 10:57 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.