Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2009, 11:28 AM   #15
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,125
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
This is how I understand the grounding in my trailer.

All the grounds tie to a ground bus in the breaker box which is tied to the shell of the trailer. The ground is not tied to the neutral bus as it would be in your home. This is to prevent the shell from becoming hot if the neutral and hot are reversed.

If the shell was floating and a hot line were to touch the shell, you could be electrocuted if outside and touching the shell. What prevents this is the ground line to the outlet you are plugged into.
__________________

__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 11:30 AM   #16
2 Rivet Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
1973 31' Sovereign
Maryville , Tennessee
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 50
Images: 6
OK i'm WAY overthinking this probably, but i've got all my connectors and wires ready except for one. I've added a completely seperate ground from the converter chassis to the frame of trailer, by itself, as the instructions clearly say to do so. I have also put in a second grounding lug to frame for the power dist. panel, so where to i connect it? To the negative load side of panel (#8 on diagram at top) or to fused battery neg. terminal (#3 on diagram above) or does it matter? They are both ground basically aren't they?
__________________

__________________
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 12:27 PM   #17
2 Rivet Member
 
trevisgardne's Avatar
 
1973 31' Sovereign
Maryville , Tennessee
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 85
Images: 19
Hot Wire

Missed you at church today. I'll be over after lunch to help. I'll bring my ammeter to see how much current that you are dealing with.

I guess I am obligated to help since I got you into this mess anyway. I did complain about how loud you old Univolt was.

T
__________________
trevisgardne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 01:18 PM   #18
2 Rivet Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
1973 31' Sovereign
Maryville , Tennessee
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 50
Images: 6
Well Trev the electrician is going to show up now everyone, AFTER i'm finished with the job! He'll probably eat my food and drink my beer to boot!!!! It looks like i've got it perfect now everyone. Thanks to everybody for the help! I'm monitoring all the posts on my dist. block and nothing is warming up at all now, but my wiring is alot more well thought out this time.
__________________
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 01:27 PM   #19
Rivet Master
 
Gene's Avatar
 
2008 25' Safari FB SE
Grand Junction , Colorado
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,840
Scotty, attach that 120 v. ground wire to the door and when Trev gets there, invite him in!

Gene
__________________
Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 02:01 PM   #20
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
is that 9260 (60) amp Intellipower much larger that the old unit? you might just need to beef up the wiring there.

remember.... beer after electrical work!
__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 02:55 PM   #21
2 Rivet Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
1973 31' Sovereign
Maryville , Tennessee
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 50
Images: 6
Thanks Ricky! Very important order of business! Still drinking Cherry Coke, I've got to lay flooring today and i'd like it to be cut straight.
I'll post a pic of all of this later today. It looks good now that it's all tied and organized.

eric
__________________
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 03:04 PM   #22
Rivet Master
 
Lumatic's Avatar

 
1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,642
Images: 16
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by 86Scotty View Post
Well Trev the electrician is going to show up now everyone, AFTER i'm finished with the job! He'll probably eat my food and drink my beer to boot!!!! It looks like i've got it perfect now everyone. Thanks to everybody for the help! I'm monitoring all the posts on my dist. block and nothing is warming up at all now, but my wiring is alot more well thought out this time.
You're not going to keep the solution to yourself now, are you?
__________________
Sail on silver girl. Sail on by. Your time has come to shine.
Lumatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 03:34 PM   #23
2 Rivet Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
1973 31' Sovereign
Maryville , Tennessee
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 50
Images: 6
Sorry Lumatic! The solution is a bigger hammer! No, actually i was trying to use the original Univolt fuse panel just as power distribution using the top side. This means i failed to run wires straight from the converter to the lugs on the backside of the fuse panel. I was going straight from converter to battery using one + and - terminal and sending the other + and - output from converter to topside of fuse terminal instead of lugs on the back. Also, i think my ground to chassis from both the converter and the dist. block were inferior. I added seperate bolts for each straight to the frame, ran the ground through a fuse and distributed it better, and now it works! If i explained that where it is easily understood, it will be a miracle.

eric
__________________
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 03:44 PM   #24
Rivet Master
 
Lumatic's Avatar

 
1971 25' Tradewind
1993 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Estancia , New Mexico
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,642
Images: 16
Blog Entries: 1
Unintellipower

I used to have a Univolt. Got a Intellipower 9245. It fits gud on the back of the old gutted univolt and I still use the original fuse panel. Now I have a Unintellipower.

I was originally thinking about wiring from the Intellipower to the battery and back to the fuse panel. After reading the above post I'm glad I didn't.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Unintellipower.JPG
Views:	67
Size:	139.6 KB
ID:	76981  
__________________
Sail on silver girl. Sail on by. Your time has come to shine.
Lumatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 06:58 AM   #25
3 Rivet Member
 
mercury7's Avatar
 
1959 24' Tradewind
easley , South Carolina
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 159
Lunatic , I am going to attempt to install an intellipower into my univolt exactly the way you did.
Is there cutting of the chassis required?

Is the positive and negative obvious on the back of the fuse panel?

I'm a novice so am trying to proceed the simplest way I can, my univolt looks like yours and I got the 9245
__________________
mercury7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 07:03 AM   #26
3 Rivet Member
 
mercury7's Avatar
 
1959 24' Tradewind
easley , South Carolina
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 159
One more important question... I just wire from intellipower to fuse panel ... Then fuse panel to battery....that white wire goes to battery ground... Correct?

I Do not wire from intellipower directly to battery if I understand this
__________________
mercury7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 07:31 AM   #27
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercury7 View Post
One more important question... I just wire from intellipower to fuse panel ... Then fuse panel to battery....that white wire goes to battery ground... Correct?

I Do not wire from intellipower directly to battery if I understand this
The white wire goes to chassis ground, plus to the battery. It helps to wire direct to the battery, but you can run ground to chassis, and negative battery to chassis, especially if the battery is far away from the Intellipower/fuse panel.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 02:01 PM   #28
2 Rivet Member
 
1959 22' Flying Cloud
Bishop , California
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 47
Okay, so do the individual 120 AC ground wires in receptacles, attach to the frame/skin?
__________________

__________________
tonyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ground Wire Help Please basecmp Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 7 05-05-2008 08:53 AM
Two wire and three wire converters??? max7 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 1 02-28-2008 06:27 PM
1960 Traveler lose ground wire from hitch JimHoek General Repair Forum 7 09-21-2007 07:54 PM
Where to put ground wire? ChicknKathy Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 2 05-17-2007 02:51 PM
Electrical from the Ground Up 68Glbtrotter Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 4 10-06-2006 11:50 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.