Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2008, 09:53 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
1975 31' Sovereign
Pensacola , Florida
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 17
Fuse panel question

Thanks everyone so far for the great advice...now another question. I am getting the Xantrex 60amp converter and I am planning on replacing the old fuse panel with a new blade style panel so I can run automotive fuses off of it. My problem is this, in my owners manual for my 75 31' sov. I was looking at the fuses and some were showing that it called for 40 and 50 amp fuses. The only fuse panels that I have found have had a max rating of 30amp fuses. Does anyone have any suggestions or know where I could purchase the right fuse panel or should I just stick with the old one that's in there.. all your help and comments are appreciated. Thanks
__________________

__________________
RandyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 10:10 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Excella CM's Avatar
 
1978 31' Excella 500
Venice , California
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,061
You may need to combine two different panels. The make high amp blade fuses, but they're bigger. Check out a marine supply.
__________________

__________________
"Not all who are laundering are washed" say Bill & Heidi

'78 Excella 500,"The Silver Pullit". vacuum over hydraulic disc brakes, center bath, rear twin. '67 Travelall 1200 B 4X4 WBCCI 3737
Excella CM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 12:46 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Zeppelinium's Avatar

 
1975 31' Sovereign
1973 27' Overlander
1977 23' Safari
Palmer Lake , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,908
Send a message via Skype™ to Zeppelinium
40 amp fuses are available in the standard size, but it is hard (impossible?) to find fuse blocks for th standard blade fuses that are rated at more than 30 amps per position or 100 amps overall.

I use these fuse blocks with 40 amp fuses in two positions (of the 8 available) for the batteries. I've got a 45 amp converter (Intellipower 9200 series) that has its own dual fuses, so I connect the inverter directly to the buss bolt.

ATC®/ATO® Fuse Panel w/o Grounding Pad

I don't use any high power inverters, so there's no normal sitution where I'll have a need for more than 25 amps or so at any time. If something goes haywire and the amps jump up, the overwhelming probability is that they'll jump way past 40 amps and fuses will blow right away--I'm not concerned that the fuse block will exceed it's short-term amp capability.

Zep
Zeppelinium is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converter, electrical, fuse panel, univolt, fuse


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Third wire on the fuse panel help flashbackk Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 9 05-01-2008 09:27 PM
fuse panel question BigSky Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 6 02-26-2007 08:45 PM
Where is my 12volt fuse panel??? Blu_Hwy_Lady Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 07-02-2006 01:37 PM
Fuse panel bluebonnet Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 7 08-15-2004 11:42 AM
What size fuse for 12-volt panel? paddy79 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 4 05-23-2004 09:39 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.