Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-18-2006, 10:13 PM   #1

2005 28' International CCD
Hillsborough , California
fan near fuse box "on" turns on sporadically?

I am a newbie to this forum but I did search the forums here and could not find a post on this topic.

I have a 3 month old 28' International CCD ... great!

So far all seems to be fine (esp. after learning about macerator pumps!).

Our problem: there is a fan in the fuse box area underneath the couch. This week (3 months new/old) it has started turning on at *random* times. We are plugged into 110AC at our house and use this unit as in-law apartment while our 3rd baby girl is arriving. There is no heat issue here as we live in San Francisco (10 miles south) and it is cool weather both day and night. We are not running any appliances other than the refrigerator and certain LV lights at night. And sometimes the gas-fired room heater during the day.

Why would we be hearing a fan kicking on for 3-5 minutes at time if there is no heat build up in the unit or in that particular area (when I pop the fuse box under the couch area open). This sound definitely comes from the fuse box area … I’ve walked outside to see if it was coming from the hot water heater compartment up front but that is stone cold and fan sound there. It is inside the trailer.

We did have a spider nest in one of the pipes feeding the gas-fired water heater last week. That poor spider became history when we turned on the water heater switch for the first time last week. Spider caught fire and burned through the thermal fuse. We are waiting on thermal fuse replacement.

However, there is no real power drain (other than the refrigerator), it is cool here day and night, yet the fan under the fuse box is kicking on every 10-15 minutes for 3-5 minutes.

What gives?

THANKS.

--Aaron
Aaron Zornes is offline   Reply With Quote