Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2011, 04:15 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
DanielB's Avatar
 
1974 31' Excella 500
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 8
Electrical Help? Battery to 12V panel?

My trailer is gutted, but all of the wires and lights are still in there.
There is also a 12v distribution panel with the right colors coming out of it (according to the service manual diagram).

Can I hook a battery up to the 12v panel to test the 12v wiring? I have a deep cell battery.

This is a picture of the panel. Where would I hook the pos and neg from the battery to this thing?

Thanks

ps the big white wire is hooked onto the bottom then splits. One of the spits goes up into the wall and the other I am holding up beside the panel.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo 115.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	122102  
__________________

__________________
As I grow older, I pay less attention to what men say. I just watch what they do.
- Andrew Carnegie
DanielB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 04:26 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,689
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
I would use a battery charger if you have one. It looks like the negative lead of the charger would connect to the common/ground buss on the bottom of the panel where the white wire is connected and the positive lead of the charger would connect to the lugs where the red wires are on the right side of the photo.
Using a battery charger to test things would be much safer than a battery since the charger has a limited current capacity.
Usually this type of distribution panel has fused protection on the wires that supply power to the panel. Some are built in and others are separate, this panel appears to need separate protection.
Using the charger to test your panel would give you the protection you need to at least check things out.
Are those 50 amp fuses in the distribution panel? If so they are way too big for the wire sizes coming off the left side. When I blow the photo up things get to blurry to see the size of the fuses.
__________________

__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 04:32 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
DanielB's Avatar
 
1974 31' Excella 500
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 8
Awesome. We have lights!

There are 3 settings on the charger: 6v 6a, 12v 2a, and 12v 6a I think that is correct.
So on the first setting lights come on.. very dim.
Second setting, lights brighten up
Third setting, lights are brightest.

I can hear the charger humming.
On the second and third settings after about 20 seconds or so something trips in the charger and all of the lights go off. I unhook the charger from the panel, the charger clicks again after a minute, then I hook the charger back to the panel and same thing over again.

Does this indicate a short or something?
__________________
As I grow older, I pay less attention to what men say. I just watch what they do.
- Andrew Carnegie
DanielB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 04:59 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
DanielB's Avatar
 
1974 31' Excella 500
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 8
bump for results edit.
__________________
As I grow older, I pay less attention to what men say. I just watch what they do.
- Andrew Carnegie
DanielB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 05:38 PM   #5
x
 
wasagachris's Avatar

 
XXXX , XXXX
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,597
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielB View Post
Awesome. We have lights!

There are 3 settings on the charger: 6v 6a, 12v 2a, and 12v 6a I think that is correct.
So on the first setting lights come on.. very dim.
Second setting, lights brighten up
Third setting, lights are brightest.

I can hear the charger humming.
On the second and third settings after about 20 seconds or so something trips in the charger and all of the lights go off. I unhook the charger from the panel, the charger clicks again after a minute, then I hook the charger back to the panel and same thing over again.

Does this indicate a short or something?
Daniel how many lights are on when the charger shuts down. It seems to be overloading and the internal safety is shutting it down. Do you have a battery installed and if not are the terminals wrapped in electrical tape so they don't ground out?
__________________
wasagachris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 05:51 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,689
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
I agree with wasagachris; your charger is only capable of 6 amps at 12 volts and it sounds like you are exceeding that and the charger is crowbaring ( shutting down). Each of the bulbs draws about 1.5 amps, so if you have more bulbs than four on the charger will shut down. That's bulbs not 4 fixtures, some have more than 1 bulb.
You can test everything out but you will have to turn off the ones you know work and test others.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 06:56 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
DanielB's Avatar
 
1974 31' Excella 500
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 8
No battery, just the charger hooked to the 12v panel.

I see. I had 3 fixtures at 6 bulbs each fixture on.
That makes sense. When I first started I only had 4 on and the charger didn't shut down. Then I figured out that the fixtures had 3 way switches on them and then all of the lights came on.
Thank you much.
__________________
As I grow older, I pay less attention to what men say. I just watch what they do.
- Andrew Carnegie
DanielB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 07:04 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,689
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
Battery

I would not connect a battery to your system without the proper inline fuse protection, probably 30 amps in your case. If you don't have the protection and want to know how to install it. Come back to this thread. I will assume that down the road you will want to wire in a converter etc. Plenty of people here can guide you thru the installation process.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 08:07 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
DanielB's Avatar
 
1974 31' Excella 500
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 8
Cool. I can use this charger setup to track and verify all of the wires. This keeps me in motion..
Thanks!
__________________
As I grow older, I pay less attention to what men say. I just watch what they do.
- Andrew Carnegie
DanielB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 09:22 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,689
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
Yes

Yes you can use the charger to check all systems. You might have to do them one at a time; the furnace blower will draw some power. If you need help, we are here.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2011, 10:30 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
Splitrock's Avatar
 
1976 31' Sovereign
Sioux Falls , South Dakota
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,391
Blog Entries: 20
When I set up my 7-way and fixed up my running lights, I ran them all with a 2 amp charger. That never tripped that charger. I didn't try running the interior lights with the charger because the converter is in place and working. The converter is one of the few things that works in addition to the door and windows. It even had the fuse panel left in place.

I tend to work ahead of myself with a jumper and a multi-meter. I'm not one to power something up without testing it first. Interesting, but I think all of my interior lights did work too.
__________________
Click on the link to see a picture of the Sioux River falls near my home.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...g?t=1278182564
Eastern South Dakota is very pretty with hills, rivers, and trees.
Splitrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 07:47 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
DanielB's Avatar
 
1974 31' Excella 500
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 8
Converter hook up

I got this converter today and I would like to hook it up myself without blowing anything up or burning anything down.

Progressive Dynamics Intelipower 9245

The Diagram looks like the pic below.

Questions:
1) What gauge wire should I use? The brochure says "from 2 to 14 Ga copper wire". Not terribly helpful.

2) The devil pitchfork things on the drawing.. ground to shell?

3) 50A fuse where a)smiley face is, or 2) where flower is. or 3) somewhere else?

4) I can plug the converter into an extension cord from the house, right?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 3.png
Views:	49
Size:	22.2 KB
ID:	123073  
__________________
As I grow older, I pay less attention to what men say. I just watch what they do.
- Andrew Carnegie
DanielB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 08:26 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
Splitrock's Avatar
 
1976 31' Sovereign
Sioux Falls , South Dakota
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,391
Blog Entries: 20
Mine I can plug into a cord from the house (barn).

I might ask the guy I got it from about the wire size, or I might look at a chart.

Does this help?

Wire Gauge Tables

For the rest I'd look at the original setup or look at the service manual.
__________________
Click on the link to see a picture of the Sioux River falls near my home.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...g?t=1278182564
Eastern South Dakota is very pretty with hills, rivers, and trees.
Splitrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 08:40 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
DanielB's Avatar
 
1974 31' Excella 500
Charleston , South Carolina
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 8
The barn info and chart helps. Thanks.
Looks like 12ga. should do it.

Weird. The service manual shows the 50a fuse on the negative wire.. none on the positive wires. The other hookups to the univolt look entirely different than the drawing that came with the converter.
__________________

__________________
As I grow older, I pay less attention to what men say. I just watch what they do.
- Andrew Carnegie
DanielB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2007 25fb 12V electrical problem Diego2 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 11 09-30-2011 07:41 AM
wire from outside reefer panel to battery buffet breez Generators & Solar Power 5 03-14-2011 12:18 PM
'62 Safari electrical update questions Peggy Wilson Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 3 02-12-2011 08:23 PM





All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.
Modal Click