Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-01-2014, 03:33 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Fort Worth , Texas
Drove Home 8 hours and battery is only showing half charge

I have a 2012 Flying Cloud. I'm new to all of this.

A couple of questions on the battery. I just had it hooked up over the Thanksgiving weekend. I then drove home 8 hours. It is 40 degrees. Everything was off last night in the store mode. I checked the battery today on the status monitor and it was showing half a charge.

Is this just due to the colder weather? Shouldn't the batteries be virtually 100% charged?

Going the other direction I took the A/S from storage and drove it 8 hours and thought it would get a charge from my F150 yet when I checked the status it just showed 1/2 to 3/4 charge. Now perhaps the status indicator never shows higher than this, but I'm wondering if something isn't working properly.

I figured my battery would get more of a charge from my F150 hookup and also wouldn't drain anything sitting over night in the store mode.
mrpettit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 03:44 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1988 25' Excella
1987 32' Excella
Knoxville , Tennessee
You really do not get much of a charge while pulling the trailer. Explanations are that the wires between the truck and the trailer are too long and too small to maintain enough voltage differential to charge. And that the voltage regulator in the truck sees the charged starting battery in the truck so it tapers down to keep from overcharging that. Bottom line is I have never been able to do more than about a 1/2 or 3/4 charge while driving no matter how far.