Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-26-2016, 08:36 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2016 16' Sport
Santa Barbara , California
Drained battery

I'm a newbie with a 2016 Bambi. I'm not an electrician. Most times I can't spell the word. Anyway here is my issue. My AS is parked right next to my business so every morning I go out and plug in a Solar panel and charger I got from Renogy. I charges most of the day at around 30 watts and somewhere between 11.5 and 13 volts. At the end of the day my battery readout says I have 12.6 to 12.8-9 volts which I understand is full charge. The next morning I come in and check the voltage and it has dropped to the low 12s or high 11s. This seems weird to me. I have been told not to run it below 11.6 so it's almost discharged every am. Everything I can find to turn off is off except propane detector. Is this normal or does anyone think I have a leak or short or whatever. All help appreciated. Thanks
Steve
SB Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 08:54 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Something is drawing down your battery, of course. I am assuming your USE?STORE switch is in STORE. Do you have an inverter option? Is it OFF? That will kill the battery pretty quickly.

A 30 watt solar panel will not recharge the battery very well. Although the voltage comes up, the battery may be only marginally charged, especially if it goes that low at night. The battery also may be defective, even though the rig is new.

So, some load, or a minimal battery charge, or a bad battery would be my guess.
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 11:30 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

2016 16' Sport
Santa Barbara , California