Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-14-2015, 10:23 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1976 27' Overlander
Delta , British Columbia
Deep Cell 6Volt Batteries in 1976 Overlander

Hello fellow Airstreamers,

I am new to the Airstream, but have had campers previously. I am keen to install 2 x 6 volt (golf cart) deep cycle batteries as we do quite a bit of off-grid (boon-docking) camping. The original battery box on my unit measures 13" long x 8" wide x 9.4" tall. It is not sufficient for any kind of a larger capacity 12 volt or 6 volt batteries.

I have looked at various mounting options and keep coming up short. The tongue will be the most obvious location, but I don't have room between the propane tanks and the actual wall. Additionally the trailer umbilical chord and the hitch torsion bars all converge in this area.

Bring in my only viable solution, on the driver side there is an appropriate sized hatch immediately behind the wheel wells and in front of the hot water tank. The hatch is sufficiently large to accommodate the batteries but it leads directly into the mid trailer closet and thus directly into a passenger area.

Has anyone done this upgrade with similar problems? Can I drill a hole either sideways or down through the floor to externally vent the batteries? Second has anyone tried routing the battery leads along the underside of the trailer.

I appreciate any help that people can offer.

Thank you

Kristien
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20150321_112327.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	236.3 KB
ID:	236303  
Seabloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 12:24 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

1986 25' Sovereign
Allegan , Michigan
I have not installed the system you describe; but I do have some observations based on the upgrade I did to my unit.