Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-18-2019, 04:16 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2018 25' Flying Cloud
Springfield , Illinois
Dead Batteries on eve of maiden voyage

Newbie here, taking off tomorrow for first trip in our FC 25. Since we took delivery, she has been stored offsite at an inside storage facility for about 5 weeks. Went to fetch her today and batteries were dead, even though I had the battery disconnect switch on 'store.'
I hope I am correct that once we hook up to shore power, the batteries will recharge since they did not freeze (hand cranking gets old quick). I am surprised that the LP sensor could run down the batteries in only 5 weeks - is this normal?
Thanks!
Silverfox58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 04:24 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2019 27' Globetrotter
Salem , Oregon
Yes it could do it. If you are storing without hpokups you need to disconnect your batteries or get a disconnect switch such as those bt Blue Sea
Dave
NoResults is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 04:26 PM   #3
"Cloudsplitter"

2003 25' Classic
Houstatlantavegas , Malebolgia
Welcome Aboard!! 👍

Yes...unfortunately it happens all too often.
A battery isolation switch will stop the parasitic draw.
You can also remove the neg cables.

Charge your batteries fully, test or have them tested and replace if needed. If they test bad Interstate will pro rate them if the dealer is no help.

Good Luck..

Bob
🇺🇸
Old 04-18-2019, 05:29 PM   #4
1 Rivet Member

2018 25' Flying Cloud
Springfield , Illinois
Thanks for the replies, I don't expect that she'll be alone for more than three weeks through October, but I'll go ahead and remove the cable during those periods.
Old 04-18-2019, 06:44 PM   #5
Rivet Master

2000 25' Safari
Davidson County , NC Highlands County, FL