Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2007, 01:44 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
Bulldogger's Avatar
 
1976 31' Sovereign
Willits , California
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Change-out Univolt for WFCO

I'm changing out my univolt with a 55 amp WFCO converter ( I like to sleep at nite ). The Univolt had a separate lead for the "power on light" on the 12 volt fuse panel. Since I hooked it in the ampmeter on the central control panel does not work so I imagine that it runs that also. How is the best way to hook up this 55 amp unit to a 4 amp breaker???
__________________

__________________
Bulldogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 01:51 PM   #2
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,191
Welcome to the forum. I'm not sure I understand what you're wanting to do. There is really no place for a 4 amp breaker to be put on your converter. The minimum is 20 amp per circuit on your coach. Hook the main + lead to the hot lead on the fuse panel, and the - lead to the spot marked on the panel, and it's done.
__________________

__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 02:04 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member
 
Bulldogger's Avatar
 
1976 31' Sovereign
Willits , California
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
My airstream is all original and the Univolt and fuse block are as well. The fuse block already has the 4 amp breaker and the wireing for the "power on light" there were 3 leads out of the univolt..one large positive, one negative and one small guage positive that hooked directly to the 4 amp fuse. The new converters do not have this extra lead, only pos. & neg. To me it seems to big a jump to hook the 4 amp breaker to the rest.. but what do I know.
__________________
Bulldogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 03:11 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Excella CM's Avatar
 
1978 31' Excella 500
Venice , California
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,061
Search the posts! You need to hook up a separate 12v supply for the old power on telltale. An old electronics wall wart will work fine. You can use AC or DC. If you use DC observethe polarity.
__________________
"Not all who are laundering are washed" say Bill & Heidi

'78 Excella 500,"The Silver Pullit". vacuum over hydraulic disc brakes, center bath, rear twin. '67 Travelall 1200 B 4X4 WBCCI 3737
Excella CM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 03:30 PM   #5
1 Rivet Member
 
Bulldogger's Avatar
 
1976 31' Sovereign
Willits , California
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks, I finally found your stream from June 06, that helps a lot. Raises the other question??? Why is the ampmeter not working as before??
__________________
Bulldogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 04:15 PM   #6
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer
 
Inland RV Center, In's Avatar
 
Corona , California
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 16,499
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogger
Thanks, I finally found your stream from June 06, that helps a lot. Raises the other question??? Why is the ampmeter not working as before??
The ammeter also has two wires that connected it to the old univolt, at the brass buss bar.

Your ammeter will not work with the new style converters, unless you use the fuse panel from the original univolt.

Andy
__________________
Inland RV Center, In is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 04:35 PM   #7
1 Rivet Member
 
Bulldogger's Avatar
 
1976 31' Sovereign
Willits , California
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks, but my problem is that I am still using the old fuse panel and now it does not work...any suggestions?
__________________
Bulldogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 11:56 PM   #8
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer
 
Inland RV Center, In's Avatar
 
Corona , California
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 16,499
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogger
Thanks, but my problem is that I am still using the old fuse panel and now it does not work...any suggestions?
Check and see if you have any voltage on the brass buss bar.

Andy
__________________
Inland RV Center, In is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 07:38 AM   #9
1 Rivet Member
 
1972 31' Sovereign
Crossville , Tennessee
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5
Hello Guys, I am in dire need of a Univolt V automatic batterycharger and power supply as the old '72 31' International is all gone. Help me find one please, you out there who are more knowledgeable than I am. Original one is input: 120 VAC 60 HZ 6.8 amps
Output: 12 VDC 45 amps.... 12 volt DC distribution panel w/ replacement fuse inside. Original Triad-UTEAD from Huntington, IN 46750 Litton Thanks so much for your kind help. Betty
__________________
Wiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 09:05 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
1973 31' Sovereign
Portland , Oregon
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,245
Images: 22
There are two places I can think of that you might contact for help with this.

One is to contact Andy at Inland who also posted some answers here.

Another place to check with is:

BestConverter - Inteli-Power, WFCO, Parallax, Xantrex, Samlex, Electrical Supplies

I understand that the owner is a member of these forums.

Both places should be able to get you started with some advise as to what you on what you need on the phone.

Malcolm
__________________
Only he who attempts the ridiculous can achieve the impossble.
malconium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2007, 09:11 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
1973 31' Sovereign
Portland , Oregon
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,245
Images: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inland RV Center, In
The ammeter also has two wires that connected it to the old univolt, at the brass buss bar.

Your ammeter will not work with the new style converters, unless you use the fuse panel from the original univolt.

Andy
Andy,

I am faced with having to replace the charger converter on my 1973 unit. The original is entirely gone. I do, however, still have the original fuse panel and other than being a bit dirty it looks to be in OK shape. Is there anything in particular that I should be looking for to make sure it is OK to reuse?

I saw the brass bus bar on the panel. It evidently is adjustable in that the one connection appears to be able to slide along the slot. I don't see any mention of it in the service manual. What would the adjustment do and how do I decide if it needs it?

What are you recommending as the right choice for replacing the charger/converter if I use the original fuse block?

Thanks,

Malcolm
__________________

__________________
Only he who attempts the ridiculous can achieve the impossble.
malconium is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wfco 9865 Sundance Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 8 07-15-2007 08:23 PM
User Name Change WhiteyFord Forum Admin, News and Member Account Info 6 05-16-2007 08:34 PM
wfco 9800? rama777 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 6 10-02-2006 11:14 PM
Can I Change My Name? Rivetedude Forum Admin, News and Member Account Info 26 07-01-2005 01:43 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.