Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-04-2008, 01:37 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

boiling batteries

Hello,
I’m new to participating in this forum but have tuned in for some time. I’ve had a problem with my 12 volt system since I got into this trailer last summer. No option of boon docking for now as I don’t have enough 12 volt for much more than the trailer jack and lights for a short time when off shore power. The symptom shows up as battery problems-an older one cooks off pretty fast while hooked to shore power and I’ve just abandoned it (as I remember, a few weeks ago I swapped a brand new one in there and it immediately started overheating also). I have been able to pretty well inspect the wiring for that battery compartment back to the inverter/charger and don’t see evidence for an obvious leak. I’m a little afraid I’ve got a dead short somewhere unless it’s related to the inverter/charger malfunctioning. On our last trip, under wet conditions, when connecting the satellite cable I felt a tingling like putting your tongue on a lantern battery when the back of my wet hand contacted some bare metal inside that compartment. I don’t know if this is an indication that something down right dangerous is going on or just typical for the conditions. Anybody out there with experience and wisdom to suggest a diagnosis/quick fix or where I should start (everything in the trailer seems to work just fine off the shore power)? I built and wired/plumbed my own house so have some aptitude, just lack direction being new to the alternate universe of travel trailers. Incidentally, I’m writing this from my work computer so am not able to confirm it, but I believe it has a parallax inverter/charger, though I might just have that stuck in my head from seeing it somewhere else.
not2tacky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 02:58 PM   #2
More than one rivet loose