Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-09-2015, 09:31 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

Mantua , Ohio
Battery Venting???

A few questions maybe some of you can verify and/or give an opinion on.
I have a 61' Ambassador with the battery on the front outside (Room for one battery only). I think I'd rather have the spare tired there.
I'm converting over the mid-bedroom from 2 twins, to 1 48" full on the road side, moving the drawer unit on the curbside up to create a "dresser" kind of thing.

1) A "Battery Vent" should be at the top of the compartment (Assuming it's inside)?

2) Is a lower vent needed too? Or just a drain?

3) Can the "drain and or lower vent" be ended into the underbelly, or should it go all the way through to below the belly pan?

4) Would a well sealed wood compartment vented into a wheel well be a safe setup? The area below the above said "dresser", directly above the axles could fit as many as 4 batteries (I only want two for now, but the option would be nice). I'm doing a full redo of this area, I could just make sure the compartment is totally sealed, using wood is easiest for me.
I don't love the idea of venting into the wheel well, but coming through the side is something I'd rather not do.

5) Another option would be about 4' behind the real axle, above the new 8gal black tank. But if I did that, could I go to the main "vent stack" for the drains?

6) How do you figure out how much venting is needed?

7) How do you feel about venting into the wheel well?

I can't find anything on the net that seems credible that will answer these questions.
Oh, as I had the floor off, I ran new 12volt wires, brake wires, speaker wires, AC 3-wires and literally "back up wires".

Thanks in advance for any input you may have on this subject!