Old 08-19-2011, 07:17 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member
Ely , Minnesota
Battery Life While Boondocking

I own a 2005 Safari (28'). Have owned it for a year now and I am still learning how everything functions. We have taken several short trips (I am still working so longer trips are limited) and a few 10 day trips. Most of the time we have stayed at campgrounds where there is electrical hookup. The last two three day trips we have had not electrical hookup. In both cases, we have tried to conserve on lights etc. but our batteries have gone dead on the second evening. I do have two Honda 2000i generators so we have been fine, but I am wondering if this short life on the batteries is normal. I have two Optima = Blue top Marine batteries which I had checked last year when we bought the unit and they passed the test. I took the batteries out of the unit over the winter and kept them charged.

I have a Tri Metric Volt/Amp indicator. When the batteries are fully charged it shows about 13.2 volts on the meter. On our last trip the meter went down to between 10 and 11 volts by the second night, but the lights were very dim.
Sometimes we had no lights on, but just the radio, and when we would run the water, the radio would blank out.

So...are my batteries shot? How can I find out? How long should two batteries last with conservative use?

How long does it take to recharge the batteries with both Honda generators running?

Any help is appreciated.

bertheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2011, 07:43 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Batteries are a storage device just like a gas tank or fresh water tank, they empty as a function of demand. Batteries are rated in Amp Hours. A 600 AH battery will supply a 1 amp draw for 600 hours. Problem is we don't have that many 1 amp draws in our trailers. Common 12 volt bulbs draw between 2 and 3 amps and many of the fixtures used in Airstreams have 2 or 6 bulbs in them.