Old 10-20-2009, 10:18 AM   #1
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
Spokane , Washington
Battery Disconnect and Shore Power

While not new to trailers, I am a newbie Airstreamer so please bear with me. Or is it "bare" with me?

Batteries were toasted from PO who left the unit plugged in most of the time. I traded them out for two relatively new deep cycle batteries with a decent charge on them. I used a digital volt meter inside the coach and saw that they were reading something like 12.4 volts. I hooked the trailer up to shore power and this morning they are reading 12.9 so I am assuming the charging function is working. Now for the question.

With the shore power attached, when I put the trailer in "storage" mode, I am reading only 10 volts. My refrigerator is running on AC but the lights are dim in the cabin. I understood the storage switch would isolate the battery from any further charging but everything in the coach would continue to run off of the converter. Is my converter not working like it should?

Once I switch the battery back, everything looks good.

Any thoughts? Thanks.

Old 10-20-2009, 10:26 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
The connected converter voltage seams low. Should be over 13.

Check to see if y9ou have a "World Friendship" converter, Chinese junk, and see if the fan is running. These converters are not reliable. On my daughters trailer sometimes when plugged in the lights drop in less than an hour. If I remove one cable from the converter and reconnect it the converter comes on and thinks work.

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2009, 10:54 AM   #3
Don't forget your cat nap

Port Orchard , Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by aftermath View Post
While not new to trailers, I am a newbie Airstreamer so please bear with me. Or is it "bare" with me?