Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-26-2017, 05:02 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1992 34' Limited
Sherwood , Arkansas
batteries and charging

Hi im new to a/s i bought 2 new optima blue top batterys for my 1992 35 ft excella. When i have it park on side of house with electic hooked up can i leave them hooked up or should i disconnect them,will they over charge or does camper have type charging system to shut off when fully charged and are these batterys big/ good enough to handle the loads they are 12v heard 6 volt is better,thanks for any input.
Highball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 05:26 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2017 25' Flying Cloud
Florence , Alabama
Many on site that know more than me, but I was told to disconnect them for long period of time to keep from frying. Unless someone has put in the newer converter units that prevent overcharging.
Old 02-26-2017, 06:15 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member

Vintage Kin Owner
Naples , Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Highball View Post
Hi im new to a/s i bought 2 new optima blue top batterys for my 1992 35 ft excella. When i have it park on side of house with electic hooked up can i leave them hooked up or should i disconnect them,will they over charge or does camper have type charging system to shut off when fully charged and are these batterys big/ good enough to handle the loads they are 12v heard 6 volt is better,thanks for any input.
It's not really a question of 6VDC vs. 12VDC but rather one of total usable battery capacity. Optima batteries have a far lower capacity than the standard group 24 size that the replicate.

A group 24 AGM battery (Optimas are serial wound AGMs rather than flat plate AGMs) has approx. 80 amp/hours, of which 50% is readily usable. A pair connected in parallel will provide you with 80 usable amp/hours.