Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2012, 10:34 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
mnmhays's Avatar
 
1973 Argosy 26
1966 30' Sovereign
Currently Looking...
Southern , Wisconsin
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 273
Images: 1
Argosy wiring help!

Hello all,

I am putting my '73 Argosy back together using the original univolt (TU 331) and fuse box. I had taken several photos before I dismantled everthing but now they are gone! Pics, diagrams, etc... would be much appreciated.
__________________

__________________
All that is gold does not always glitter...those who wander not always are lost....
mnmhays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:24 AM   #2
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,127
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
IMO, taking out the original univolt was the best thing you could have done, I would replace it with a 3 stage converter.

This is the wiring for the fuse panel in my 75 TW. I don't know if the Argosy used the same.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fuses.JPG
Views:	274
Size:	197.4 KB
ID:	158019  
__________________

__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 12:16 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
I would recommend replacing the original Univolt with a modern converter. I installed a Progressive Dynamics 9245 a couple of years ago. It does a good job.
Would also replace the fuse panel. The old style glass fuses are marginal at best in the panel. The clips have become corroded and the spring tension is weak.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 04:52 PM   #4
4 Rivet Member
 
mnmhays's Avatar
 
1973 Argosy 26
1966 30' Sovereign
Currently Looking...
Southern , Wisconsin
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 273
Images: 1
Thanks guys, I appreciate the advice.

At the moment, I need to put the original Univolt back in. Also, I mis-spoke when I said fuse panel (it is actually integral to my Univolt) I had meant to say breaker box. I am unsure as to where to reattach the shore power cord, and the connections from the Uni to the breaker box and vice-versa, etc...

I just need to put her back as she was for now.
__________________
All that is gold does not always glitter...those who wander not always are lost....
mnmhays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 05:50 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
Post pics of the breaker box so we can see the setup. We need to know if it is set up with a main breaker. Then we can assist you in wiring in the shore power cable.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 06:20 AM   #6
4 Rivet Member
 
mnmhays's Avatar
 
1973 Argosy 26
1966 30' Sovereign
Currently Looking...
Southern , Wisconsin
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 273
Images: 1
Ok... I am reasonably sure that the shore power cable gets connected to the wires in the lower compartment of the Univolt and the colored wireset, battery and ground wires are pretty well explained by the diagram inside the cover. As I said it is the 120v wires for the breaker box that have me a bit perplexed. The last photo is a 120v wire that I am the most unsure of... Thanks again for your help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2808.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	145.4 KB
ID:	158056   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2812.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	170.1 KB
ID:	158057  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2815.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	162.7 KB
ID:	158058   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2809.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	120.6 KB
ID:	158059  

__________________
All that is gold does not always glitter...those who wander not always are lost....
mnmhays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 08:14 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
It appears that you only have one 120 volt AC circuit. I will assume you don't have air conditioning.
The shore power cable does NOT connect directly to the Univolt. It connects to the AC breaker box. You connect the BLACK wire of the shore power cable to the lug above the circuit breaker. The WHITE wire goes to the neutral buss on the right and the green wire goes to the ground buss on the left.
The Romex has 3 wires: the BLACK goes to the bottom of the circuit breaker; the WHITE goes to the neutral buss on the right; the BARE wire goes to the ground buss on the left.
The 120 volt AC feed to the Univolt does not connect to the fuse panel. There should be another point of termination ( can't see it in your pics) which should be thru a strain relief which prevents the Romex from chafing. Does the Univolt have a cord on it that plugs into an outlet?
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 08:18 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
In taking another look at the Univolt, there is a separate compartment below the fuse panel. This is where the 120 volt AC connects. Black to Black; White to White; ground to the chassis of the Univolt. The Romex should enter this compartment thru a separate hole in the Univolt chassis and have a strain relief.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 08:21 AM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
mnmhays's Avatar
 
1973 Argosy 26
1966 30' Sovereign
Currently Looking...
Southern , Wisconsin
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 273
Images: 1
TG...exactly the info I needed. It makes perfect sense to me now!
__________________
All that is gold does not always glitter...those who wander not always are lost....
mnmhays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 08:40 AM   #10
4 Rivet Member
 
mnmhays's Avatar
 
1973 Argosy 26
1966 30' Sovereign
Currently Looking...
Southern , Wisconsin
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 273
Images: 1
Lastly, it aapears that a chassis ground (which is a white heavy wire-from the univolt) and the ground for the breaker box (solid copper-attached to the LH ground buss) go out to the termination bar mounted in the bumper compartment. Is this correct?
__________________
All that is gold does not always glitter...those who wander not always are lost....
mnmhays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 09:50 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
That sounds correct. The AC ground plane is chassis ground. The DC common (or ground as some call it) is also the chassis.
__________________

__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.