Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2010, 10:11 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
1963 19' Globetrotter
Currently Looking...
Moline , Illinois
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 635
8 ga wire connection problem

I'm in the process of installing a new Intelli-power using the recommended 8 AWG wire and have run into a problem . The instructions call for a three way splice and I'm not sure of the best way to make that connection ,plus I can't find anything to make it with . As far as I know wire nuts don't exist for 3 # 8 wires nor do three way crimp connectors.

All I can come up with is using an automotive single stud junction block. A Bussman # JB381602 looks like it would work if I can find somebody who sells them. I'm sure others have run into this problem and there has to be an easy solution.
__________________

__________________
63air is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 10:24 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Mexray's Avatar
 
1978 28' Ambassador
Morada , California
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,583
One solution is to use three #10 ring terminal ends, then bolt them together to form a solid connection...you might then use some silicone goo to coat and insulate the connection, or some electrical tape coiled around to cover - or both...

There are probably wire nuts large enough to handle three # 8 wires, available from an electrical supply house, but you'd probably have to buy a whole box quantity...

An electrical supply house should also have a copper lug large enough for the three wires to fit inside, and has a large set screw to secure the wires together...

Twisting the stripped ends of the wires together, with a little flux and then solder is probably the best way to insure good electrical conductivity...followed up with the silicone and tape...

The possibilities are (shockingly) endless...

Ray
__________________

__________________
Ray & Pat; Morada, CA
Mexray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 10:31 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
Melody Ranch's Avatar
 
1956 22' Flying Cloud
1953 32' Liner
1955 22' Safari
Valley View , Texas
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,960
Images: 78
Send a message via Skype™ to Melody Ranch
Call for help

I am sure that Randy, at Best Converter" will help you out.

I cant figure out your three way splice. Seems to me that the converter should have a power cord in, a ground wire out and a wire out to the pos battery terminal.
__________________
Melody Ranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 10:42 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member
 
GO Bob's Avatar
 
1982 34' Limited
1975 31' Sovereign
Grovetown , Georgia
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
The silicone will corrode the copper wires just like it will aluminun.
__________________
"Humans get a lot done,not because we're smart, but because we have thumbs so we can make coffee." Flash Rosenburg

"Decaffinated coffee is the devil's blend."
GO Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 10:45 PM   #5
Got gandkids?
 
Jim & Susan's Avatar

 
1973 27' Overlander
'Possum Holler , Georgia
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,406
Images: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by GO Bob View Post
The silicone will corrode the copper wires just like it will aluminun.
Yep, try a "no-ox" compound. You can get it from your local electrical supply company. Look's a little bit like grease, but will keep the bare copper from corroding.

Jim
__________________
www.nesa.org

Air No. 6427
Jim & Susan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 07:11 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
1963 19' Globetrotter
Currently Looking...
Moline , Illinois
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 635
I was following the schematic that VTS and Inteli-power had . I guess an acceptable alternative is to hook the converter to the battery and then hook my 12v supply line directly into the battery also so that the battery is acting as the junction block?
__________________
63air is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 07:21 AM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
1971 29' Ambassador
Leonardtown , Maryland
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 262
Images: 3
Solder would be my choice, but one could also go to Radio Shack and get a terminal strip with a cover and a selection of wire lugs. Put lugs on wires and mount in the terminal strip. Place the strip in a convient location. This method will make convient trouble shooting in the future.
__________________
_________________

Rebee - WBCCI #1325
2002 Classic Ltd 30'
2007 Dodge 2500, 6.7 Cummins
Rebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 07:24 AM   #8
CLOUDSPLITTER "Tahawas"
 
ROBERT CROSS's Avatar

 
2003 25' Classic
Zanadude Nebula , WNY
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,153
Images: 1
Solder....
__________________
PFC.....

“After all these years the reason I continue to love Thanksgiving.....I still sit at the kids table.”
RLC

Sandra wanted to go to Cleveland on vacation,
but I’m the Husband, so we went to Cleveland.
RLC
ROBERT CROSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 09:18 AM   #9
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
No Solder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebee View Post
Solder would be my choice, but one could also go to Radio Shack and get a terminal strip with a cover and a selection of wire lugs. Put lugs on wires and mount in the terminal strip. Place the strip in a convient location. This method will make convient trouble shooting in the future.
Crimp! Solder will cause the wire to break just past where the solder ends. This is why the FAA does not allow solder in Airplanes. There are few exceptions. The solder creates a hard end for the wire to flex under vibration.
You can get wire nuts up the #6 or possibly larger. Marine supply places will have crimp ends in any size you want.
You plan to run to the battery then another line off the battery will work well if your battery is not on a sliding tray.
__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 11:04 AM   #10
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
Well you can use a split bolt. Available at hardware stores and home centers in sizes from 14 gauge to 1 gauge and larger. Cover with tape or shrink wrap....
Attached Images
 
__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 11:15 AM   #11
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
Or you can get something like this, from Affordable Solar. No tape required if you mount it inside an enclosure....
Attached Images
 
__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 11:18 AM   #12
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
Or you can get splices like these at most home centers. Again, tape and shink wrap.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 11:21 AM   #13
Wise Elder
 
Jammer's Avatar
 
2010 30' Classic
Vintage Kin Owner
South of the river , Minnesota
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4,119
Or you might be able to use something like this to get the number of splices down. Available at midsouthelectronics.com, stacked electrical lugs lug splicer reducer turn prevent mechanical connectors and probably elsewhere as well.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Jammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 11:22 AM   #14
Rivet Master
 
arodriguez60's Avatar
 
1959 22' Flying Cloud
1969 25' Tradewind
1983 34' Limited
fairview , New Mexico
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 574
Images: 85
You can also use a piece copper tubing. I used copper tubing regularly when I did automotive wiring. I prefer it compared to those prefabed connectors. just wrap it up afterwords with heat shrink tubing.
__________________

__________________
arodriguez60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable wire connection! Archersfin Audio, Video & TV 0 09-29-2009 06:13 PM
Green wire/White wire magnets robbier49 Brakes & Brake Controllers 3 07-08-2009 07:26 PM
Two wire and three wire converters??? max7 Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 1 02-28-2008 06:27 PM
Where is the tachometer connection? AccessMaster Mechanics Corner - Engines, Transmission & More... 13 06-29-2003 06:26 PM
Wi-Fi connection? Krazykraut Airstream Motorhome Forums 8 11-25-2002 12:46 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.