Old 03-15-2009, 12:51 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1961 24' Tradewind
Bend , Oregon
61 Tradewind 12v help

Hi, I'm new to Airstream and new to RVing, I bought a 61 Tradewind with no battery and not sure anything works(Fridg, heater, water heater etc). I found a battery to fit the box under the front window. 3 wires come out of the trailer to the box. 2red with inline fuses and one green. I hooked them to the battery the only way I could make them work. Everything was fine. 12 volt lights worked etc., but the battery drained dead after about an hour. Any ideas on what I may have done wrong? Many more questions later.

Finding this forum was great! I look forward to meeting some of you in the future.

Mike

Old 03-15-2009, 01:04 AM   #2
Well Preserved

1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Welcome to the forum.
What is wrong is your trailer did not come equipped with a converter, or any way to charge the 12 volt system. Depending on how involved you want to get, you can use something as simple as a 10 amp battery charger, like for your car, or go whole-hog, and get an Intellipower converter, fuse blocks, AGM batteries, solar panels, etc... I would opt for the battery charger, at least short-term.

Old 03-15-2009, 07:18 AM   #3
Rivet Master

2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike&Mary View Post
Hi, I'm new to Airstream and new to RVing, I bought a 61 Tradewind with no battery and not sure anything works(Fridg, heater, water heater etc). I found a battery to fit the box under the front window. 3 wires come out of the trailer to the box. 2red with inline fuses and one green. I hooked them to the battery the only way I could make them work. Everything was fine. 12 volt lights worked etc., but the battery drained dead after about an hour. Any ideas on what I may have done wrong? Many more questions later.

Finding this forum was great! I look forward to meeting some of you in the future.

Mike
Welcome to the forum, Mike.