Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2014, 08:34 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
2014 23' Flying Cloud
2015 28' Flying Cloud
Kalamazoo , Michigan
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 102
50 to 30 amp cord

What is the consensus on carrying a 50 to 30 amp converter in my FC 23D? Seems like cheap insurance for the few times I have only 50 amp service. Thanks
__________________

__________________
mwilliamsmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 08:40 AM   #2
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
You never need one, until you do. I bought mine when attending a rally at a civic center that seemed to be set up for the big-moho crowd, all 50A sites with no 30A outlets. I've carried it in the trailer since then. I haven't needed to USE it since then, but it doesn't take up much room and I'll be ready next time.
__________________

__________________
— David

Zero Gravitas — 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto — 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. — Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2014, 09:15 AM   #3
4 Rivet Member
 
1987 25' Sovereign
Oregon , Ohio
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 491
I bought one at the international rally in 2011 and needed it three weeks later at a campground in Ohio that only had 20 & 50 amp plug ins. Last year I was at a county fair ground for a unit rally. The electric boxes had two 20 amp, one 30 amp, and one 50 amp outlets, and the one 30 amp was already being used. No problem, I just pulled out the once used 50 to 30 amp adapter. I have only used it twice in three years, but when I needed it I had it.
__________________
msmcv51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 01:49 PM   #4
Lyle & Margie
 
2008 28' International CCD
Lakeside , California
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 81
I was told by a fellow AS person, on our first outing (Space Shuttle launch Feb 2010, tnx again Laura). That I should, when ever 50 amp is available, always use this adapter and to get my 30 amp service. I don't remember his reasoning (cleaner, and/or more stable, or?), but I've done this ever since, and it seems to work fine. Can anyone validate this process for me?

Tnx Lyle & Margie
__________________
BAB BMRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 03:36 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,813
Images: 12
There is no validation.

50 amp is just 2 legs of the circuit where as 30 amp is just one leg of the same circuit and 20 is just a 20 amp beaker on the one of the 30 amp legs.

Now if the installer had wired ever 30 amp plug on the same leg throughout the camp ground you would see more voltage while plugged into the 50 if the adapter happened to take power off the unused leg. Likelihood about equal to winning the lottery. Because it would be completely against the code and raise hell with the campground electric meter.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 11:25 PM   #6
Lyle & Margie
 
2008 28' International CCD
Lakeside , California
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 81
Tnx Howie, I guess I can stop doing this.
__________________
BAB BMRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 11:38 PM   #7
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowieE View Post
There is no validation.

50 amp is just 2 legs of the circuit where as 30 amp is just one leg of the same circuit and 20 is just a 20 amp beaker on the one of the 30 amp legs.
I don't think that is right. Each leg of a 50 amp RV circuit should be 50A at 120V.

Now, if the campground has more load than service on that 50 amp leg you will still have a low voltage problem. Using one leg of the 50 amp service is not a panacea and the breaker is oversized for your 30 amp shore power cable.
__________________
— David

Zero Gravitas — 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto — 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. — Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 12:56 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
NevadaGeo's Avatar
 
1978 31' Excella 500
Genoa , Nevada
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowieE View Post
There is no validation.

50 amp is just 2 legs of the circuit where as 30 amp is just one leg of the same circuit and 20 is just a 20 amp beaker on the one of the 30 amp legs.

Now if the installer had wired ever 30 amp plug on the same leg throughout the camp ground you would see more voltage while plugged into the 50 if the adapter happened to take power off the unused leg. Likelihood about equal to winning the lottery. Because it would be completely against the code and raise hell with the campground electric meter.
? That makes no sense at all. Sounds like your are talking about 220 volts which has two hot wires versus 120 volts which has one hot wire.
__________________
I admit to being powerless over housecleaning and social niceities
Airforums 22655 and now, WBCCI 22655

NevadaGeo
NevadaGeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 01:00 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
ROBERTSUNRUS's Avatar

 
2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7,269
Images: 18
Blog Entries: 51
Hi, I have used my 50 amp dog bone twice, but wouldn't leave home without it. A lot of 30 amp receptacles are loose or broken in that case the lesser used 50 amp receptacles would be a better choice.
__________________
Bob

2005 Safari 25-B
"Le Petit Chateau Argent"
[ Small Silver Castle ]
2000 Navigator / 2014 F-150 Eco-Boost / Equal-i-zer / P-3
YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2014, 06:17 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,417
Blog Entries: 2
Robert, good point. I have found loose 30 amp connecters and never thought of using the 50 amp dog bone. Thanks for the idea! Jim
__________________

__________________
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 amp cord to 50 amp outlet. urnmor Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 20 10-21-2011 01:55 PM
Simple Q: 30 amp RV cord to 15 amp wall unit.. Shmeter Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 2 07-17-2011 08:55 AM
30 amp power cord trouble davidz71 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 1 03-12-2003 06:29 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.