Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2014, 01:41 PM   #15
Rivet Master
 
robwok's Avatar
 
1964 26' Overlander
Richmond , Virginia
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 788
Images: 35
Just get a generator, bring it indoors, and plug into that. 50 gallon drum of gas next to it and a siphon hose, and you'll be fine. Plus the heat generated will keep the garage warm while you're gone, and the carbon monoxide will kill any rodents that want to move in!


(completely joking here - just get the plug. Walmart has them)

Rob
__________________

__________________
robwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 02:39 PM   #16
1 Rivet Member
 
2011 22' Sport
Port Clinton , Ohio
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
I have run the AC on 15 and 20 amp service in Florida with out tripping the breaker but could not run the microwave and AC it would tripp the breaker. Also remember the 30 Amp plug and receptacle on an RV is 110 volts not 220 volts. So buy the correct receptacle.
__________________

__________________
dmocken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 02:46 PM   #17
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,417
Blog Entries: 2
What size air cond on 22 sport?
__________________
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 03:54 PM   #18
Rivet Master
 
aquinob's Avatar
 
1973 27' Overlander
Portsmouth , Virginia
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by Natty Lite View Post
Thanks guys,
I will run new wiring and make a new 30 amp breaker dedicated to the RV, so I can run AC!!
I gotta ask, have you ever added breakers and new circuits before?
__________________
Bob

Ongoing adventures at:
http://1973overlander.blogspot.com/
aquinob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 04:56 PM   #19
Rivet Master
 
Wayward's Avatar
 
2006 25' Safari FB SE
Cary , North Carolina
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Natty Lite View Post
Thanks guys,
I will run new wiring and make a new 30 amp breaker dedicated to the RV, so I can run AC!!
If you want to run the A/C and other stuff at the same time, then you will need 30amp, single phase (120v).

Your 20 amp circuit will not cut it unless you are careful about what else you run with the A/C. In this case just buy an adapter. Why not try this first? Worst that can happen is you trip the 20amp breaker

If 20amps are not enough for your purposes.....

If you have an attached garage and have a unused slot in your beaker box, simply add a 30amp breaker and run a new 10 gauge wire to an RV style outlet, for 30amp, 120v.

If you have a detached garage or if you have no open slots in your breaker box, have a new 220v sub panel installed in the garage, then you have lots of options.
__________________
2006 Safari SE FB
2000 F150 4.2L
2011 F250 6.2L
Raleigh, NC
Wayward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 05:42 PM   #20
4 Rivet Member
 
Bk Yd Safari's Avatar
 
2008 20' Safari
Tunnel Hill , Georgia
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 291
Images: 3
I had a 20 amp exterior receptacle outside the door of our walkout basement. I hired an electrician to add a 30 amp breaker, pull #10 wire and replace the exterior receptacle from 20 amp to 30 amp for dedicated service to the AS.
__________________

Remember its not the destination, but rather the journey.... its what's in the middle that matters the most!
Bk Yd Safari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 05:59 PM   #21
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
K.C. , Missouri
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 585
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquinob View Post
I gotta ask, have you ever added breakers and new circuits before?
I think what Bob is alluding to is that when you take that big metal cover off the electrical box there in your house.....if you don't know "exactly" what you are doing....instant death resides in there. Key word there would be ... DEATH. As in permanent.
__________________
gmw photos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 07:54 PM   #22
Got gandkids?
 
Jim & Susan's Avatar

 
1973 27' Overlander
'Possum Holler , Georgia
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5,406
Images: 39
GOOD advice above. And as with many things in life, there's usually some "ifs, ands or buts"......

I ran a buried wire in conduit from the electrical panel in the garage out to a pedestal next to the 'Stream just inside the back yard gate. The run was just under 100 feet, IIRC. I had a licensed electrician buddy of mine do the calculations for me. I actually needed #6 gauge wire (for 30 amp service), if I'm remembering it right.

Point being, sometimes it's not so simple. Seek professional advice if you're not 100% certain.

Having the 'Stream on 30 amp all the time is great. I have to sleep out there sometimes in the daytime because of my work schedule (and the fact that Susan babysits the grand-kids). Plus all the obvious advantages (fridge, battery charger, etc)

Jim
__________________
www.nesa.org

Air No. 6427
Jim & Susan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 04:13 PM   #23
Roving Sewist
 
DotTexas's Avatar
 
2003 25' Safari
Sanger , Texas
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmocken View Post
I have run the AC on 15 and 20 amp service in Florida with out tripping the breaker but could not run the microwave and AC it would tripp the breaker. Also remember the 30 Amp plug and receptacle on an RV is 110 volts not 220 volts. So buy the correct receptacle.
I think I have been doing the same in south east Texas. Adapter plugs into just one plug in garage from my 25' AS with one A/C. I cannot run A/C and microwave or A/C and iron. So, I have scheduled a 20 volt lot in Michigan for the summer. I hope I am not doing wrong.
__________________
DotTexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 05:34 PM   #24
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,408
Images: 5
You might have to use 8ga wire, depending on run length. Check the wire size charts. I ran 10ga to the garage as it was only about 30 feet. But I noticed, before I went back and installed conduit, that when I had the A/C, fridge, charger, and dehumidifer on, the wire was warm....not hot.

When I installed the parking pad at the other end of the house, the run was 48 feet. Went to the big box for 8ga, as IIRC I was just on the border of the chart. They didn't have any 8ga, so I ran 6ga. Plenty of reserve, but it was a bear to work into 3/4" conduit around the 90* turn on the outside wall of the house.
__________________

__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2004 Airstream 30' S/O, Class A, 34,200 miles, Beautiful & Garage Kept - $38,900 eBay Watch Airstreams on eBay 0 11-07-2011 08:00 AM
Hook up OR Not Hook up while camping purman Boondocking 29 08-18-2009 07:42 PM
I'm past the hook, now I'm in with the line & sinker LI Pets Member Introductions 15 09-16-2006 08:13 PM
Battery Location & Hook Up achip Batteries, Univolts, Converters & Inverters 0 06-28-2006 09:12 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.