Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2013, 10:55 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
1985 31' Excella
Birmingham , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 57
20 Amp GFI breaker blows when plugging in New IOTA Converter

We have just finished repairing our floor in our "85 Excella and I am installing the new IOTA DLS 55-IQ4 12 Volt 55 AMP 3 Stage Auto Smart charging system replacing the original Triad Utrad 750-6 50 Amp univolt. When I plug the New IOTA into the outlet that was originally placed between the battery boxes for the older univolt it blows the breaker. I found that this outlet is connected to a 20 Amp GFI breaker. Could this breaker be my problem? When I plug the IOTA in any other outlet it is fine. It is not conneted to the battery yet. Just simply testing it before putting the interior wall back up. Do I need to put the IOTA on it's own breaker or change the GFI breaker to a high AMP?
__________________

__________________
Tartimisi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 11:15 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,591
Try the new converter on a GFI in the house and see if it trips out the one there. If so, there may be a problem in the new converter. If not, there is some issue in the AS electrical system, including the GFI itself. Sometimes they get hyper sensitive and trip out for no reason. Do not replace it with a higher amp one, and there is no need to put the converter/charger on its own circuit. There may be some problems with the GFI circuit itself, everything from damp spider webs to slight cumulative leakage in the wire run, just below the 5 ma leakage rate of the GFI, and the new converter has a little internal leakage which pushes the system over the edge.

These can be tricky to find, I wish I could give you more concrete instructions.
__________________

__________________
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 12:14 PM   #3
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
vinstream's Avatar
 
1962 19' Globetrotter
1963 19' Globetrotter
1961 19' Globetrotter
Wheat Ridge , Colorado
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 624
Images: 2
This type of converter should be hard wired in, in my opinion. There should be a fault fuse in the inverter itself to protect it, if the voltage or power spikes. It should be wired in with at least 10 gage wire not the lighter gage you are plugging into. Hope that helps!
__________________
www.VINSTREAM.com
Wheat Ridge, Colorado
WBCCI # 1962
Instagram #Vinstream
vinstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 12:24 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,400
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinstream View Post
This type of converter should be hard wired in, in my opinion. There should be a fault fuse in the inverter itself to protect it, if the voltage or power spikes. It should be wired in with at least 10 gage wire not the lighter gage you are plugging into. Hope that helps!
Why?????? It comes with a grounded plug, AS provides an outlet specifically for a converter and this model draws MAXIMUM of 900 watts...if the battery is depleted.....much less most of the time.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 01:43 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,139
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
The cord that comes on the converter is just fine. The converter will only draw a max of 6 amps, 720 watts, on the 120volt side.
Larger wire is required on the DC side because of the lower voltage and higher current (amps). 12 volts x 60 amps = 720 watts.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 03:17 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,400
Images: 5
I thought I read 900W...but I'm going from a full hard drive with a few bad sectors.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 03:44 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,139
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
Even if it were 960 watts, that would only be a max draw on the 120 volt side of 8 amps.
The power cord provided can handle considerably more than 8 amps.
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 04:07 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,400
Images: 5
Right! It's semantics anyway, as I see it. I have never seen it draw more the 400-500watts with the Kill-A-Watt with 50% discharged batteries. and even then, it marches down pretty quickly as the variable charge output rate declines.
__________________

__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.