Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-07-2013, 09:10 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1976 Argosy 28
Traverse City , Michigan
1976 Argosy 28' Electrical Questions

I am totally new to this and I really hope I am in the right place for answers....

Anyways, I recently acquired a 1976 Argosy Airstream 28' Center bath trailer from my great grandparent's cabin which sat outside for 16+ years. Don't make any comments on tires because I already know they need to be replaced ASAP. The trailer is still in remarkably good condition for being outside for about as long as I've been alive.

But to the problem. I tried to plug in the electrical wire in the bumper to my house with an adapter (fire extinguisher ready). I heard no noise and no lights or any electrical work. The only electric that works is trailer lights for when it is being towed. One thing I must add is my grandfather or great grandfather must have added an electrical wire to the battery terminals in the battery storage box on the side of the trailer. It is simply a wire on one end hooked up to the battery terminal connectors (battery absent) and on the other, two grommeted bare wires. Maybe he used this to power the trailer? I don't know.

My real question is if anyone has any idea what might be wrong with it? A blown fuse, a switch to choose between AC and DC, etc...? I know little about these trailers and am trying to restore it, so any other tips from experience is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Old 07-07-2013, 09:38 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64

Greetings lkreykes!

Welcome to the Forums and the world of Vintage Argosy ownership!

Quote:
Originally Posted by lkreykes View Post
I am totally new to this and I really hope I am in the right place for answers....