Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-23-2011, 05:04 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1963 22' Safari
Beaverton , Oregon
1963 safari where is the inverter and battery

I am new to the threads, we bought a 63 safari and have gutted it, the dead battery was in the battery box with nothing hooked up to it, all the electrical works when the trailer is plugged in. My question is where is the inverter and does that hook up to the battery for boondocking? Right now no appliances are installed and there was no fridge. We will not be putting in a furnace or ac so looks like the water heater and fridge can run off lp and battery?? How does all this wiring work and is the inverter under the floor? The floor is all rotted so that's coming out too.
Theburrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 05:44 PM   #2
Rivet Master In Training

1965 22' Safari
Mount Airy , Georgia
Send a message via AIM to Kevo Send a message via MSN to Kevo Send a message via Yahoo to Kevo
In My 65 Its in the rear of the camper right next to the Water Heater. It will have a connection back to the breaker box and some large leads that go to the Battery. Its hard to miss if it's the original Univolt, it will be about 12 Inches square and weigh about 400lbs ( just kidding, but it is pretty heavy). The purpose of the converter is to covert the 120v to 12 volts to run your camper and charge the battery. If it is the original Univolt, toss it immediately and make the investment in a new one. The new ones are much more battery friendly and make much less noise. If you browse my pics, you can see where mine is placed.

https://picasaweb.google.com/1095068...89912384373090
Kevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 06:01 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member

1963 22' Safari
Beaverton , Oregon