Old 08-06-2015, 02:43 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1965 24' Tradewind
Pleasant Ridge , Michigan
12v circuit trips shore GFCI

Hi everyone! I was hoping to get some help on a recurring issue we are having with our AS. I am no electrician so it wouldn't surprise me if the solution is elementary.

When we remodeled our 65 TradeWind I redid the electrical system from the ground up. At the core of our electrical system we have an Intellipower 4045, two 6v Lifeline batteries, and a battery monitor.

We have a problem when we plug into shore power with a GFCI outlet anywhere on the circuit. All is well when the 120v breakers in our 4045 are switched on but when I turn on the 15A circuit that powers the converter/12v side the shore GFCI outlet trips and shuts the shore circuit off. I have tried checking to see if I have a short anywhere on any of my 12v circuits by seeing if the draw on the battery changes when my 12v fuses are out, and the draw (-0.01A which I am assuming is what the battery monitor is using) remains unchanged. I have also tried disconnecting the battery from the converter via my disconnect switch but this does not stop the shore GFCI from tripping.

I have attached a diagram of my electrical system. I hope I am providing enough info, and that the fix is simple and cheap!

Thanks in advance for any help!

Chad & Kir
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2015-08-06 at 12.44.09 PM.png
Views:	68
Size:	351.9 KB
ID:	244741  

Old 08-06-2015, 02:57 PM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2015 28' Flying Cloud
Newtown , Pennsylvania
Is the converter the only device on that circuit. If not, try disconnecting the other devices.

Bruce

Old 08-06-2015, 03:02 PM   #3
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else