Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2012, 10:47 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
gaylejoe's Avatar
 
2007 25' Safari FB SE
St. Hedwig , Texas
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 555
Yamaha 2800: will it run a 13.5k AC?

Does anyone have this gen and does it really run a 13,500 btu a/c? I really like the size and the weight. I have a Yamaha 2400is that I run on propane but it's not enough to run the a/c. All the others are to big and way to heavy for me. I have an 07 25' FB.
__________________

__________________
gaylejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 12:47 AM   #2
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
I have a heavy Yamaha EF3000iSEB that does a great job running the AC, but demands some effort to put in the bed of the truck.

The light weight/run any AC option seems to be the paired 2000s (Yamaha, Honda or one of the knock-off brands.) If you go that route, someone will buy your 2400, probably for close to what one of the 2000s costs.
__________________

__________________
David

Zero Gravitas 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 07:50 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
2011 23' Flying Cloud
Durango , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 503
I assume that the propane conversion of your Yamaha 2400is reduced the power such that it will not run your 13,500 A/C. I have that same generator (gasoline) and it handles our 13,500 A/C just fine. Good to note, as I was interested in the propane conversion.
__________________
Safe Travels,
Joe & Joan Donnaway
Durango, CO
JamuJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 02:58 PM   #4
Ready-to-Travel
 
pmclemore's Avatar

 
2012 30' International
Walkerton , Virginia
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,494
I agree with JamuJoe: My 2400is will not run my 13500 ac on propane, but it will run just fine using gas. I guess it has to do with the extra btus gas brings to the party compared to propane.

Pat
__________________
--------------------------------------
Somebody, please, point me to the road.

AIR 3987
TAC VA-2
WBCCI 4596
pmclemore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 09:45 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
gaylejoe's Avatar
 
2007 25' Safari FB SE
St. Hedwig , Texas
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 555
To be truthful, I have not tried to start my a/c with the 2400 since it only has 2000wts continuous. I didn't want to hurt the compressor of the a/c. Personally, I prefer the propane over gasoline. It is much cleaner.

The Yamaha 2800 seems to be a very nice compact unit weighing only 65lbs.
__________________
gaylejoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 11:22 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
2011 23' Flying Cloud
Durango , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 503
The generator has overload protection, and the A/C has under-current protection, (I experienced both when trying out a Yamaha 2000) so I'm pretty comfortable about running the A/C on the 2400 without damage to either. (only about six hours run time so far, even the 53 - 60 dBA is a nuisance to my ears). Note, however, that Dometic recommends a 3.5KW generator for running the 13,500 BTU unit.

I also looked at the 2800, but couldn't go for the additional 10dBA sound level.
__________________
Safe Travels,
Joe & Joan Donnaway
Durango, CO
JamuJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 11:56 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Naper's Avatar
 
2017 30' Classic
Loretto , Ontario
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 504
My Yamaha 2400 has no trouble running the 15,000 AC in our 27' Classic. I do however put the fridge and water heater on propane. I also looked at the 2800 but went for the 2400 due to the difference in db's
__________________
Naper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 01:30 PM   #8
3 Rivet Member
 
texasbound's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Bothell , Washington
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by DKB_SATX View Post
I have a heavy Yamaha EF3000iSEB that does a great job running the AC, but demands some effort to put in the bed of the truck.

The light weight/run any AC option seems to be the paired 2000s (Yamaha, Honda or one of the knock-off brands.) If you go that route, someone will buy your 2400, probably for close to what one of the 2000s costs.
Do you ramp it up into the truck, or just always use two people to lift it in?

I'm debating on getting this one.

Thanks,
Leo
__________________
-=TexasBound=-
1974 - 31' Airstream Sovereign Land Yacht "Dudley"
WBCCI # 7616

http://ismelltexas.wordpress.com
texasbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 02:25 PM   #9
Moderator
 
DKB_SATX's Avatar

 
2017 26' Flying Cloud
1976 Argosy 28
Alamo Heights , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,401
Images: 1
Blog Entries: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by texasbound

Do you ramp it up into the truck, or just always use two people to lift it in?

I'm debating on getting this one.

Thanks,
Leo
So far my partner and I lift it together. I'm planning to get a hoist with a hand crank that goes in the receiver for solo loading.there are affordable ones that swivel and are rated for 2x the weight of the 3000.
__________________
David

Zero Gravitas 2017 Flying Cloud 26U | Il Progetto 1976 Argosy 28 Center Bath | WBCCI# 15566

He has all of the virtues I dislike and none of the vices I admire. Sir Winston Churchill
DKB_SATX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 06:17 PM   #10
3 Rivet Member
 
2004 30' Classic
Hillsborough , New Jersey
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 189
I have had the Yamaha 2800 for years and it runs the air conditioner in my 30 foot classic. I do put the refrigerator and water heater on gas when I run the air. wolf146
__________________
wolf146 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 12:12 AM   #11
2 Rivet Member
 
Vitaminsea's Avatar
 
2012 28' International
Alameda , California
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 39
I have the Yamaha 2400 isHC. It's a quite and dependable generator. Did the gas conversion to propane. It can start up and run my 15k btu a/c. It's just by the skin if its teeth but it can start and run the unit. Everything else turned off. I ran it 8 hours a day in the desert sun at 4000 feet and it came out like a champ.

It's the 30 amp start up that the generator can do for maybe 30 seconds. That's the main difference from the 2400is. For a 13.5k unit you will be fine with a new Yamaha 2400ISHC.
__________________
Vitaminsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 02:08 PM   #12
2 Rivet Member
 
2005 28' Safari
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitaminsea View Post
...For a 13.5k unit you will be fine with a new Yamaha 2400ISHC.
I assume it transitions the RPM to power the unit or is there a way to have the generator run full RPM and then turn on the A/C?
__________________
PaulAir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 02:05 AM   #13
2 Rivet Member
 
Vitaminsea's Avatar
 
2012 28' International
Alameda , California
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 39
Yes, the generator automatically increases RPM with load. There are really no settings. Just an on or off switch and the choke. I run it for a minute then turn on the a/c. There are a few seconds that your hear the generator getting the load on and maybe will stop, then it kicks the rpm up and starts the unit. The a/c unit first starts the fan then starts the a/c about 20 seconds later. From my understanding, the a/c needs the most power in the start up period then uses much less power.

Make sure during the start up of a/c you have good batteries, generator running, and all the other electrical items off. After start up you need to be picky with adding the additional load items. My led lights and a fan works. Refrig and electric water heater on electric would put it into overload and the generator would protect itself by overload.

Hope that helps. And this is based on new equipment like a 2400ishc w/ propane and 2012 airstream using a 15k a/c.
__________________
Vitaminsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 10:24 AM   #14
2 Rivet Member
 
2005 28' Safari
Austin , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 56
Yes that helps. I forgot that the compressor has a delay in kicking in.
Earlier models of the 2400i had a switch to take it out of eco mode, which is missing on the version I just got. The 2800 has that switch. I'm thinking that they left of the switch, but the connections are still there. I need to check and the supplier is checking as well.
Tech support from Yamaha is severly lacking. They point you at Yamaha dealers, most of which have no generator experience.
I also need to separate the 120VAC to 12V converter with a disconnect.
After that along with adding solar, the generator would only be concerned with 120VAC circuits.

I'll post again if I find the eco mode disable circuit. I don't trust the brown out condition with the A/C kicking in and the delay for the generator to respond. A/Cs don't like that.
__________________

__________________
PaulAir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.