Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-12-2009, 05:56 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1965 20' Globetrotter
1956 22' Caravanner
Mendon , Massachusetts
Send a message via AIM to muddy_hollow Send a message via Yahoo to muddy_hollow
Vintage Solar (1956)

I've been working on my 56 Caravanner for a couple years now and I'd say I am pretty darn close to complete. Just a bit of veneer work inside, which knowing me will be another five years to complete.

In the meantime, we have been out camping but only boondocking. For all the camping we've done, it's always in the safari field, tucked away next to the beach, or parked in the side yard of a friends cottage. Those are the places we like to go, but what I'm finding is that we run our little generator a couple hours each day to top up our batteries. This is mainly due to the compressor I used in the fridge, which is typically used in sail boats and has a very large cold plate. When there's excess power it freezes the plate solid and then trickle freezes it to extend the life of the batteries. We don't have any deep cycle batteries yet, but we can go a couple days if we're not opening and closing the fridge.

This year, we decided to install solar panels and I was inspired by a couple in the NE unit which recently fitted panels to their rig for a cross country trip(M&L). I bought the same kit, 160 watts of green power. I need to buy some bigger batteries, but that will be next year.

Here's a picture of the panels on our 56. I'm sure some will say it ruins the look, which doesn't bother me a bit.

I'd be curious to hear how experiences from other folks on their solar panels, especially how big your array is.

Doug
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0125.jpg
Views:	140
Size:	156.3 KB
ID:	85258  

muddy_hollow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 07:39 AM   #2
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...