Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-25-2019, 09:30 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2007 27' International CCD FB
San Diego , California
The Everyday Man's Lithium Upgrade

We've all seen and read the extents and investments people go through to upgrade their systems to lithium. Some of them exceedingly impressive, complex, and intimidating. Just the way their proud owners like it.

I design systems for a living. I guide large teams of multi-functional engineers to build forward leaning technology. I've learned over the years, that give an engineer enough time and money, and they will over engineer the crap out of something to the degree that no one else will understand. Because complexity in and of itself shows their worth!

Well, it takes real engineering chops to make things work elegantly and simply. Apple would be a great example here (except those cost an arm and a leg).

Enter the Everyday Man's Lithium upgrade.

I'll caveat that this is not for everyone. Especially those that have a great need to power built in large draw devices. But for 95% of us...

Upgrade via a standalone lithium battery like a Goal Zero 1000, or the like.

Consider:
1) Keep the stock AS battery system for "house" battery chores as it was designed for - furnace, pumps, lights, etc. It's always worked exceedingly well for this. Upgrade this with low cost flooded golf cart 6V house batts for a great 120-140 Ah of power.
2) A standalone lithium battery adds "accessory" capacity above and beyond the "house" battery, and one is not wasting money just replacing capacity. 140Ah of 6V house + 80Ah Goal Zero = 220Ah usable power. Now that's a real capacity upgrade