Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-16-2017, 02:23 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2009 16' DWR
Concord , California
Solar isn't charging

Hello, all. A newbie here.

I have a 2009 16' Bambi DWR I just bought and for some reason the solar isn't working correctly. It was working a few days ago. I thought maybe the voltage of the battery had to be below 11.7 volts so I ran the lights until voltage was down, but the solar still isn't charging. Any ideas?

Thanks for any and all suggestions.
Funster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 02:44 PM   #2

2016 25' Flying Cloud
Fairfield , California
It hasn't been very sunny the last couple of days. Did you try over the weekend? There was enough sun then.

I use a self concocted system that hooks directly to the batteries, so if there is a factory switch that needs to be thrown I am not of much help.

Only thing I can think of is the battery switch needs to be in use position?

Matti
Mattirs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2017, 03:53 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member

2009 16' DWR
Concord , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattirs View Post
It hasn't been very sunny the last couple of days. Did you try over the weekend? There was enough sun then.

I use a self concocted system that hooks directly to the batteries, so if there is a factory switch that needs to be thrown I am not of much help.

Only thing I can think of is the battery switch needs to be in use position?

Matti
Hmmmm. I tried in both the "Use" position and "Store" position without success the day before yesterday when it was sunny. I think on a cloudy day I should at least get a .2 or .3 amp charge - but I'll try again when the sun comes out. Thanks, Matti.
Old 11-16-2017, 04:10 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
KW , Ontario
What is the voltage into the charger? Can you remove the output wire of the charger and measure it? What is its voltage?