Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-20-2016, 08:26 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2016 28' Flying Cloud
Dover , Pennsylvania
Shattered Solar Panel Replacement

We've had our Airstream 3 weeks tomorrow. I was on a ladder today and saw that one of the factory installed solar panels is shattered. My best guess is while we were camping last weekend something fell from a tree and hit it. You can see where something impacted the center of the panel. I am not a happy camper. I assume this will be a relatively easily replacement, but expensive. I would prefer to replace it myself as opposed to driving 3 1/2 hours back to Colonial where we purchased it. I am an industrial electrician so I feel this falls well within my skill set to replace it. Any idea on cost of a panel or a source other than Airstream? I've left a message with the parts department at Colonial and am waiting on a return call. What can we do to prevent this from happening again? Any advice or at least a shoulder to cry on?
Dan_Rox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 11:55 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2015 28' Flying Cloud
Durango , Colorado
That's unfortunate. Quality solar panels are quite tough and impact resistant. My Kyocera and Solartech panels have endured some very heavy hailstorms. Purchased all of mine thru Amazon. There are many online sources. Should be easy to replace if Airstream used MC4 connectors or an accessible junction box.
JamuJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 12:43 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2020 28' Flying Cloud
Upper St Clair , Pennsylvania
Expensive? We have comprehensive insurance which covers something like this less a zero deductible. You might want to check your policy.

Bud
Volunteer K9 Rehabilitator & Trainer
paiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 02:04 PM   #4
Rivet Master

2007 30' Classic
KW , Ontario