Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-29-2019, 03:08 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1972 27' Overlander
Howe , Indiana
Seeking Solar Installation Help in Indiana

Hi,

I am a newbie to the forum and just purchased my first AS, a 1972 27' Overlander that has been gutted and partially rebuilt inside. My plan is to complete this airstream for full-time, off-grid living for one (and possibly a dog).

The previous owner informed me that the only thing he did as far as electrical while rebuilding the inside of the AS was update the charging system and fuse panel. Those units are new.

I know basically nothing about electrical setups, systems...anything. I have a dad who is very knowledgable but has no experience with solar setups and is currently swamped with a house renovation project, so I hate to ask him to drop everything and help me figure all this stuff out.

I've been hearing (reading) a lot about a gentleman named Lewster who lives in FL and come highly recommended by pretty much everyone for professional solar installation.

My question is, has anyone here found someone to install their solar for them that they would highly recommend? I would love to do it myself and same some $$$ (also the pride of having done it myself), but I know my current limits, I want the job done right, and I am willing to pay for it.

Any and all recommendations are appreciated:-)

Thanks!! And thanks for the warm welcome to the forum!!

Sarah
rogerssj23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 04:11 PM   #2
Half a Rivet Short

2017 30' Classic
2022 Interstate 24X
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Hi

Welcome !!!

AM Solar is the main outfit people seem to like. They are in Springfield OR. Because that's a drive for a lot of people Lew does work when he "vacations" in Florida. Neither location is exactly close to Indiana.