Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2006, 03:20 PM   #1
Moderator Emeritus
 
Pick's Avatar
 
1972 31' Sovereign
High Springs , Florida
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,310
Images: 36
Send a message via AIM to Pick
Q for those running A/C with 2 EU2000i's

Do you run them on Eco-Throttle? Run one on Eco with the other one off?

Going to try running 2 this weekend, one on propane, one on gasoline. Should be interesting!
__________________

__________________
ARS WA8ZYT
2003 GMC 2500HD 4X4 D/A Ext. Cab
Propane Powered Honda EU2000i
Lots of Hot Sauce!
Air # 283
WBCCI 1350
Pick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 11:56 AM   #2
Rivet Master<br><img src="/ugala/forums/images/5rivet.gif">
 
CanoeStream's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,279
Images: 19
Blog Entries: 3
Say Pick -- Can you give us a report on just how this worked out?

[reference: Pick's previous thread on Propane Powered EU2000i]
__________________

__________________
Bob

5 meter Langford Nahanni

CanoeStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 05:08 PM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
panabax's Avatar
 
1984 34' Limited
Dallas , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32
Images: 15
I run mine both on ECO mode and I run them both on propane. They work fine on ECO mode to drive my 15K btu carrrier unit. The unit will not run on a single EU2000i whether eco is on or off.

I only recently finished the propane conversion so I do not have a good idea of realistic run times, but I would think that it should run all weekend on one 40# bottle which is just under 10 gal of propane. We will see. The conversion is pretty slick. No more gas smell in my trailer or my TV. No more trying to fill the tank without spilling over. I always spilled over. Even the fumes are nicer.

I posted photos of the conversion and its steps on the EU2000i yahoo group. Here's the link:

http://autos.ph.groups.yahoo.com/gro...os/browse/c9cd

I eventually plan to perform a run time test on a 20# bottle of propane, but I have not gotten to it yet. Maybe this weekend.

Panabax
__________________
panabax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 11:48 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,813
Images: 12
panabax

Any chance you can post your comment on this site or another site that does not require a membership?
I do not yet have generaters but would like to see what you have done. Were are you carrying them and were are they placed when in use.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 12:06 PM   #5
Rivet Master<br><img src="/ugala/forums/images/5rivet.gif">
 
CanoeStream's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,279
Images: 19
Blog Entries: 3
Hello HowieE -- Pick's post above shows the LP conversion process. RoadKingMoe, another veteran forums member, shows a wiring harness he made at http://home.att.net/~roadkingmoe/Honda/. Honda sells these parallel cables for a pretty penny -- but I'd recommend them unless you were absolutely confident in your electrical skills.
__________________
Bob

5 meter Langford Nahanni

CanoeStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 12:20 AM   #6
2 Rivet Member
 
panabax's Avatar
 
1984 34' Limited
Dallas , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32
Images: 15
Propane Conversion Pictures

OK, I went ahead and posted pictures of the propane conversion step by step here on airstreamforums.com. The link is:

http://www.airforums.com/photo...mageuser=12023

I am very happy with the conversion, although I have not gotten an opportunity for a true field test so I can figure out realistic real world run times on a given amount of propane. I will update you when I have time to test it out.

Panabax
__________________
panabax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 07:58 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Pick's Avatar
 
1972 31' Sovereign
High Springs , Florida
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,310
Images: 36
Send a message via AIM to Pick
We started boondocking on Friday night, and I fired up the propane unit at about 4 PM. Friend Jim brought his gas powered 2000 and we fired it up at about 7 pm, running both on Eco mode. For some reason A/C breaker tripped at about 2 AM, so we turned Eco mode off, till about 8 AM. We had 4 people sleeping in camper in 90 degree weather.

We experimented with different modes all weekend, and found breaker tripped in middle of night, no matter how we ran them. I am going to replace breaker, as A/C seems to run fine.

During 3 days and 4 nights of camping we used about 6 gallons of gas, and slightly more in propane.

Jim, was really impressed with the performance of my unit, is tired of spilling gas on his unit, (those Blitz gas cans are the pits) and wants to convert his to propane ASAP.
__________________
ARS WA8ZYT
2003 GMC 2500HD 4X4 D/A Ext. Cab
Propane Powered Honda EU2000i
Lots of Hot Sauce!
Air # 283
WBCCI 1350
Pick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 08:12 AM   #8
Patriotic
 
Chuck's Avatar

 
1973 23' Safari
North of Boston , Massachusetts
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,533
Images: 260
why does it take 2 of these to run an a/c? I noticed a recent spam ad from camping world featured this series of generator, and they say that the 2000 puts out 16.7 amps. Is that just a fantasy of the Honda marketing department? if the a/c is on a 15amp circuit, shouldn't a single generator be enough? (running nothing else, of course...fridge on gas, etc, etc).
__________________
Air:291
Wbcci: 3752
'73 Safari 23'
'00 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 QC
Chuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 09:27 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
davidz71's Avatar
 
1986 25' Sovereign
Southern Middle , Tennessee
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 3,150
Images: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuck
why does it take 2 of these to run an a/c? I noticed a recent spam ad from camping world featured this series of generator, and they say that the 2000 puts out 16.7 amps. Is that just a fantasy of the Honda marketing department? if the a/c is on a 15amp circuit, shouldn't a single generator be enough? (running nothing else, of course...fridge on gas, etc, etc).
Compressor start-up is where the problem lies. A Honda 2000 may run the fan but when the compressor kicks in, wattage needed for the surge is not satisfied with just one of the little guys. My AC brocure from Dometic/Duotherm specifically says that I need at least a 3,500 watt generator for my unit. It runs fine with my Yamaha EF3000iSEB which has the battery boost to 3,500 watts. I'd hate to try it with anything smaller. Two Honda 2000's would run it fine also.
__________________
Craig

AIR #0078
'01 2500hd ext. cab, 8.1 litre gas, 5 sp. Allison auto
3.73 rear end
Mag-Hytec rear diff cover
Amsoil Dual by-pass oil filtration system
Amsoil synthetics all around
265 watt AM Solar, Inc. system
davidz71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 10:36 AM   #10
Patriotic
 
Chuck's Avatar

 
1973 23' Safari
North of Boston , Massachusetts
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,533
Images: 260
on the 15 amp circuit in my trailer, the most you could hope for is 1800 watts before that circuit breaker pops...unless I'm like, totally confused, here. 15amps x 110 volts=1650 watts. if you've got a whole 120v on the line...1800.
__________________
Air:291
Wbcci: 3752
'73 Safari 23'
'00 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 QC
Chuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 10:41 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
RoadKingMoe's Avatar
 
2001 34' Limited
The State of , Ohio
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,605
Images: 23
The service manual says our 13,500 btu DuoTherm draws about 15A for both the compressor and the fan on high, and Airstream put it on a 20A breaker. But keep in mind that at start-up it can draw double or more its running amps, and the breaker (and most heavy-duty fuses) will pass more than their rating for a specified time, depending on how far over the rating the current is.

The EU2000 is rated for 13.3A continuous, and 16.7A for up to 30 minutes at a time. Because of the cycling, our AC would never operate it in the higher range for more than a few minutes. But there are two problems with trying to use just one EU2000. One is, as mentioned, compressor start. The other is that pretty much anything else in addition to the AC will put it in overload. That includes the converter charging/maintaining the batteries and powering any 12 volt appliances.

Here's our setup.
__________________
Maurice
RoadKingMoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 11:20 AM   #12
4 Rivet Member
 
AZstreamin's Avatar
 
2005 30' Safari
Chandler , Arizona
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 497
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pick

During 3 days and 4 nights of camping we used about 6 gallons of gas, and slightly more in propane.
Pick, I've been following your report this is the next big AS accessory purchase for us....A couple of questions: When you have the AC running is it on high auto or low? What other things do you have running?

I'm curious if the 2 Propane Hondas will run my 13.5 AC..LCD and DVD Player, a few lights. etc.. No Micro in my unit so that's not a concern..But, maybe a coffee maker in the morning.. How much propane will a fridge use in 4 nights?

Thanks,
Brent
__________________
AZstreamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 11:53 AM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
Pick's Avatar
 
1972 31' Sovereign
High Springs , Florida
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,310
Images: 36
Send a message via AIM to Pick
Brent, since I have a vintage unit, I do not have any "phantom loads". We ran the A/C on fan high, 40 amp Intellicharge, 120 volt fridge that draws 1.9 amps, 13" color TV and DirecTV sat receiver. Voltage never dropped below 121 volts per "Kill A Watt" ac power monitor.
__________________
ARS WA8ZYT
2003 GMC 2500HD 4X4 D/A Ext. Cab
Propane Powered Honda EU2000i
Lots of Hot Sauce!
Air # 283
WBCCI 1350
Pick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2006, 12:02 PM   #14
Patriotic
 
Chuck's Avatar

 
1973 23' Safari
North of Boston , Massachusetts
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4,533
Images: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadKingMoe
The service manual says our 13,500 btu DuoTherm draws about 15A for both the compressor and the fan on high, and Airstream put it on a 20A breaker. But keep in mind that at start-up it can draw double or more its running amps, and the breaker (and most heavy-duty fuses) will pass more than their rating for a specified time, depending on how far over the rating the current is.

The EU2000 is rated for 13.3A continuous, and 16.7A for up to 30 minutes at a time. Because of the cycling, our AC would never operate it in the higher range for more than a few minutes. But there are two problems with trying to use just one EU2000. One is, as mentioned, compressor start. The other is that pretty much anything else in addition to the AC will put it in overload. That includes the converter charging/maintaining the batteries and powering any 12 volt appliances.

Here's our setup.
Ok, that explains it. and I think I was mistaken, before...its not a 15 amp circuit, its a 20. there are 2 20 amp circuits...I was thinking of the 30amp plug/2...oops. well, thats why I asked.
__________________

__________________
Air:291
Wbcci: 3752
'73 Safari 23'
'00 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 QC
Chuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A/C replacement? VWMARTINEZ Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 6 03-09-2007 03:14 AM
1971 Armstrog A/C uwe Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 2 08-06-2002 06:08 PM
Check your aging A/C shroud Jim Clark Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 2 07-25-2002 11:30 PM
Running the roof A/C when traveling ... Hayseed Airstream Motorhome Forums 3 07-21-2002 09:16 PM
Mediocre A/C Chuck Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 4 07-07-2002 08:52 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.