Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2008, 09:18 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
kstampa's Avatar
 
2004 28' International CCD
tampa , Florida
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 121
Images: 35
Honda 3000is trips to overload protection on my 2004 28ft CCD

Has anyone had this problem? I can only run my AC on low and about at #4 on the termostat. The 3000is seems to have difficulty when the compressor starts. It often trips to overcurrent protection on any colder setting on the AC. Unfortunate that Honda literature says it'll push a 13.5K AC and it chokes so much. And no, barely anything else is pulling current in the trailer when the generator trips. Any ideas? Thanks!!
__________________

__________________
kstampa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 09:21 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Fyrzowt's Avatar
 
2000 25' Safari
West of Fort Worth , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,697
Images: 8
I have the Honda 3000 and it runs mine fine. I can even run it on eco mode, it powers up when the compressor kicks on then slows down some.
I would guess that either your genny or A/C need service.
__________________

__________________
AIR #15800

"Wimpy" 1/2 ton 2002 GMC Sierra 4X4 Z-71 Gasser
2000 Safari SS 25'
Fyrzowt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 09:45 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
2007 25' Safari FB SE
Suburbia , Sunny So Cal
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,756
I also have a Honda 3000 that runs my A/C set in econo mode with no problems.

Make sure your fridge is set to run on propane. The Honda 3000 won't power the A/C and fridge at the same time.
__________________
I'd rather be boon docking in the desert.

WBCCI 6731 FCU
AIR# 13896
CA 4
Goin camping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 10:11 PM   #4
3 Rivet Member
 
lsinclair's Avatar
 
2008 30' Classic
Pagosa Springs , Colorado
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 116
Would suggest checking your current draw with an amp meter and compare with manufature's specs.
__________________
Larry & Sandy
08 Classic 30
05 GMC K2500 Duramax
Four Courners Unit
WBCCI # 2460 AIR # 17259
lsinclair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2008, 10:19 PM   #5
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by kstampa
Has anyone had this problem? I can only run my AC on low and about at #4 on the termostat. The 3000is seems to have difficulty when the compressor starts. It often trips to overcurrent protection on any colder setting on the AC. Unfortunate that Honda literature says it'll push a 13.5K AC and it chokes so much. And no, barely anything else is pulling current in the trailer when the generator trips. Any ideas? Thanks!!
Try turning off eco throttle first.
__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 04:51 AM   #6
Cyclist
 
henw's Avatar
 
2007 28' International CCD
Windermere , Florida
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 457
Amp meter. Check what's drawing what.
Eco throttle off.
Even a TV or a few lights along with the refrig. can be enough of an extra draw to tip the scales.
A longer cord from generator to trailer could be an issue.
__________________
2007 28' Int CCD.
2011 F 250 Big Honking Diesel
DTV 5lnb on a tripod.
Wilson wired repeater with YAG.
Two big screens
15dB Backfire WiFi antenna and WaveMagnum
Centramatics.
Hawkshead Tire Monitors.
henw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 07:53 AM   #7
3 Rivet Member
 
kstampa's Avatar
 
2004 28' International CCD
tampa , Florida
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 121
Images: 35
thanks for the feedback. I'm not running it on eco-throttle and I have a standard cord length. I'll have to check the draw- didn't do that yet.
__________________
kstampa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 09:03 AM   #8
Refurbished 89 Excella
 
DKDarrow's Avatar
 
Sugar Valley , Georgia
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 241
I have many hours, days, and weeks of running the A/C and Heat pump with my 3000. NO overloads except when using the microwave. Run the TV, for sure the frig, a catylitic heater, and yes even a hair dryer with never a circuit trip.

Yes, even with the gas saving switch on, when the Heat pump kicks in or the AC, the generator just reaches down, grabs itself and throttles up.

By the way the heat pump uses a few more start amps than the AC........

One thing you might try is to build a cord maybe 5 or 6 feet, using a heavy guage stranded wire, with the special plug on one end that that connects to the genset and then on the other end one that connects to the power supply cable from the trailer.

That special plug puts out a few more amps than the standard 110 plugs that you can plug a regular power/extension cord into. Perhaps this is why I have no problems with drawing AC, frig, tv, and other accessories all at one time............Dennis
__________________
Dennis & Susan
D&D Farms, Sugar Valley, Ga
Registered Boer goats
DKDarrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2008, 05:56 PM   #9
4 Rivet Member
 
Motoman's Avatar
 
2005 25' International CCD
1960 18' "Footer"
1959 26' Overlander
Riverside , California
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 334
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goin camping
I also have a Honda 3000 that runs my A/C set in econo mode with no problems.

Make sure your fridge is set to run on propane. The Honda 3000 won't power the A/C and fridge at the same time.
We have run our 13,500 btu refrigerator on our 3000 but I want to echo Goin Camping's suggestion. Make sure that the refrigerator is not set on automatic, otherwise it will automatically switch to electric and the 3000 may not be able to handle the full load. Switch it to propane manually.
__________________
Don (KD6UVT) & Gail Williams

What do you want to be in life, a spectator or a participant?

SNU #157
FCU #004
Motoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 10:13 PM   #10
1 Rivet Member
 
yuma , Arizona
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Now I am freaking out. i just purchased a EU3000 and we have a 31 soveriegn. Don't know what the BTU is, but I am worried that I underpowered. Have not received it yet, so hopefully we can run the a/c, not too worried about the other stuff. (micro, etc)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Motoman View Post
We have run our 13,500 btu refrigerator on our 3000 but I want to echo Goin Camping's suggestion. Make sure that the refrigerator is not set on automatic, otherwise it will automatically switch to electric and the 3000 may not be able to handle the full load. Switch it to propane manually.
__________________
themunks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 10:19 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
2007 25' Safari FB SE
Suburbia , Sunny So Cal
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,756
Quote:
Originally Posted by themunks View Post
Now I am freaking out. i just purchased a EU3000 and we have a 31 soveriegn. Don't know what the BTU is, but I am worried that I underpowered. Have not received it yet, so hopefully we can run the a/c, not too worried about the other stuff. (micro, etc)
Don't worry. The EU3000 will power your A/C just fine.
__________________
I'd rather be boon docking in the desert.

WBCCI 6731 FCU
AIR# 13896
CA 4
Goin camping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 09:23 AM   #12
Ready-to-Travel
 
pmclemore's Avatar

 
2012 30' International
Walkerton , Virginia
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,494
The manual on my 15kbtu says it requires a 4000 watt gen at minimum. Have you checked your requirements?

Pat
__________________
pmclemore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 01:23 PM   #13
1 Rivet Member
 
yuma , Arizona
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
says my A/C needs 3400 to run, probably not continuous, but called Wise Sales and they seem to think it will start up the 15 BTU
__________________
themunks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 03:27 PM   #14
3 Rivet Member
 
kstampa's Avatar
 
2004 28' International CCD
tampa , Florida
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 121
Images: 35
GOOD NEWS, Those of you concerned about your generators need not worry any longer. DKDarrow's comments got me thinking more about the cord (thank you). Upon closer examination I discovered that one of the prongs on the 30 amp cord was a little loose and the rubber around it slightly melted. I cut the male end off and rewired it with a kit from camping world. Fired up the Honda and turned the AC on high and tstat maxed cold. Purred like a kitten! No more problems! Thanks everybody!
__________________

__________________
kstampa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Honda 3000is Just Purchased valvestem Generators & Solar Power 62 08-26-2011 01:11 PM
Wheels For Honda 3000is valvestem Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 1 06-29-2007 09:16 AM
off-topic question: Honda 2004-5 Recall codybear Off Topic Forum 0 02-05-2007 07:35 PM
2004 International CCD andyfuson 2002 - 2005 International 31 11-15-2004 10:14 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.