Old 07-12-2012, 09:03 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2006 16' International CCD
Ontario , California
Generator Usage

We've had our 16' Bambi for about 6 yrs now and enjoy taking it to campgrounds with no hook-ups. We're FINALLY getting around to purchasing a generator but not sure what wattage we'll need and the proper way to use it.
We rarely, but occasionally, run the a/c...and for the most part just need to keep the battery charged to power the fridge, water pump, radio and lights.
I've never used a generator before. How often do I need to run it to keep the power up and not have to worry about my fridge not cooling and my lights getting dim? We've had too many long weekends cut short due to lack of electricity.
Also, I assume the generator needs to be running any time that I'm plugging something in such as a coffee maker, microwave, etc...?

Old 07-12-2012, 09:44 AM   #2
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad J View Post
We've had our 16' Bambi for about 6 yrs now and enjoy taking it to campgrounds with no hook-ups. We're FINALLY getting around to purchasing a generator but not sure what wattage we'll need and the proper way to use it.
We rarely, but occasionally, run the a/c...and for the most part just need to keep the battery charged to power the fridge, water pump, radio and lights.
I've never used a generator before. How often do I need to run it to keep the power up and not have to worry about my fridge not cooling and my lights getting dim? We've had too many long weekends cut short due to lack of electricity.
Also, I assume the generator needs to be running any time that I'm plugging something in such as a coffee maker, microwave, etc...?
Everybody's different when it comes to electrical usage. So, some one-size-fits-all guaidance: