Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-09-2010, 06:53 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

Ely , Minnesota
Generator Questions from a Rookie

Hi Everyone.
First let me say how helpful so many of you have been. I am new to all of this, but I am learning, thanks to many of you.

Ok...
I have purchased a Honda EU2oooi generator and the companion EU2000i.
I have them connected with parallel cables and everything works fine.

Supposedly, I am able to run just about anything in my 28' Safari with this set up. Here is my current dilemma. When I am hooked up to shore power everything works...microwave, Air Conditioning, Fridge, convenience outlets etc. However, when I disconnect from shore power and hook up to the generators I am not getting power to the microwave, Air Conditioning, and convenience outlets etc. I have the proper adapter to plug into the 30 amp twist lock receptacle. So as far as I know I have things hooked up properly but I still do not get any power into the Stream. The microwave does not work and the fridge will not work on the AC setting.

What am I doing wrong? Thanks in advance.

Bert
bertheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 07:18 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
I would suspect the adapter of being bad. I would check the output of the generators with a meter, and if the output is good, I'd change the adapter.
Old 10-09-2010, 07:29 AM   #3
3 Rivet Member

2011 30' Flying Cloud
North Falmouth , Massachusetts
The problem sounds like it is in the generators. Start by taking a multimeter and see if you are getting 120-130 volts at three places: the generator outlet itself, the outboard side of the adapter that plugs into the generator, and at the end of the 30 amp cord where it enters the trailer.