Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-19-2008, 11:54 PM   #1
Rivet Master

2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Generator Newbie Questions.

Hi, I'm new to the generator owners group, so I have a few questions for those with experience. I bought a new Yamaha 2400 and it's first use will be in October at the Balloon Fiesta. Questions are for any size, color, or brand generator.

(1.) Where do you park your generator while camping? (a.) In front of your trailer. (b.) In back of your trailer. (c.) Street side. (d.) Curb side, under your main awning. (e.) In the bed of your truck.

(2.) How do you keep from loseing your generator? [thieves] (a.) Lock it to your trailer with a cable or chain. (b.) Bolt if down to truck bed. (c.) Tie your dog to it. (d.) Lock it inside of your tow vehicle or trailer every time you leave the area. (e.) Depend on neighbor or camp security to watch it for you. (f.) Leave it un-attended and take your chances.

(3.) How do you protect your generator from the elements? (a.) Set it on a cement slab. (b.) Use plywood Etc. as a base if you have to set it on soft dirt. (c.) Shade it with an umbrella or tent / tarp. (d.) Set it under your awning. (e.) Turn it off and cover it if it rains.

(4.) For those unfortunate to have lost their generators to thieves: (a.) How did it happen? (b.) Where did it happen? [camping/home] (c.) Was it locked? (d.) What measures have you made so this, hopefully, won't happen again?
YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 02:51 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2004 30' Classic Slideout
2021 33FB Classic
Colleyville , TX