Old 05-14-2010, 08:07 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
2005 25' Classic
LaSalle , Michigan
Generator Hook-up Helpful Hints

I've been camping for a couple years in our 25 ft. Classic and have never had need of a generator. I just picked up a Yamaha EF2000 to use at Alumapolooza. Is there anything I need to do in the trailer before I use the generator or do you just plug it in and start it up? I would appreciate any advice you can give me. I doubt if I can use the air conditioner, but it should power everything else?

God Bless All the Airstreamers as they Travel
Redcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 08:24 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member
2010 31' Classic
Mobile , Alabama
Send a message via AIM to Greg N Send a message via Yahoo to Greg N
Nope....But Start it first then plug it in...

Greg N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 11:30 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2005 25' Safari
Salem , Oregon
Hi, I say plug it in first, then start it, before you turn anything on. I don't want any load on when plugging into the generator because the arcing at the receptical is not good for it. The only thing that should be on at start-up would be the converter. If your battery is low, this will be a pretty good load at first. With your Yamaha 2000, you might need to switch your refrigerator to gas before trying to use your micro-wave. [if you have a micro-wave]

2005 Safari 25-B
"Le Petit Chateau Argent"
[ Small Silver Castle ]
2000 Navigator / 2014 F-150 Eco-Boost / Equal-i-zer / P-3
YAMAHA 2400 / AIR #12144
ROBERTSUNRUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 07:28 AM   #4
2 Rivet Member
2008 19' International CCD
Spring , Texas
Test it out at home; pulling a load for several minutes (maybe 15) with a hair dryer, portable microwave or high draw appliance. Actually we used an electric leaf blower to test and blow the grass clippings off the driveway. One of our Hondas developed a loose wire when we got it home; it was repaired quickly under warranty.