Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Restoration, Repair & Parts Forums > Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar > Generators & Solar Power
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-12-2013, 06:14 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

2012 27' FB International
Kirkland , Washington
Generator enclosure mounted on bumper?

Hi all,

I'm brand new to this and am trying to get my airstream set up. I bought 2 Yamaha EF2000is generators, each weighing around 45 pounds, and would like to house them in a locking aluminum toolbox (approx 40 pounds), that is specially designed for this, and then mount the whole thing on the back bumper. Here is a link to the box that I'm looking at:
http://www.kshmarine.com/generator_box.htm
To me this seems much easier than lugging the two units in and out of my truck every time I need power, not to mention more secure. I can't run the generators in my truck cab, as it is covered. I've read that the bumpers can't support much weight, but this seems fairly light to me (about 160 pounds to be safe). Is this possible? Would I need to worry about about fumes coming in through the windows having the generator this close? I've never used a generator in my life! Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated!
Maia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 07:01 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

1975 31' Sovereign
Palomar Mountain , California