Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2007, 05:38 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
kontiki's Avatar
 
1989 25' Excella
San Andreas , California
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 60
generator

We just finished our 2nd trip in our Argosy. The first night was great but the second night we lost power. It only has a single 24 type battery. I tried to recharge via the connection to the truck but no luck. I have seen some threads that suggested a 27 type battery or perhaps 2 batteries. What about a small generator just to run the basics? Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Thanx Jim
__________________

__________________
kontiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 05:40 PM   #2
Well Preserved

 
1993 21' Sovereign
Colfax , North Carolina
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 20,193
Were you plugged in to shore power, or just running off the battery?
__________________

__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Terry
overlander63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 05:47 PM   #3
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
What do you cconsider the basics? Water Heater? gas or Electric? AC? lights? ....
__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 06:29 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
kontiki's Avatar
 
1989 25' Excella
San Andreas , California
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 60
generator

I was not plugged into shore power. The basics would be lights,waterpump, perhaps furnace fan. Water heater and furnace are gas.
__________________
kontiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 06:39 PM   #5
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,127
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
You most likely ran out of battery because you used your furnace, it is a big draw. Without the furnace you should be able to go several days on one battery. A larger battery would increase your battery life somewhat and two batteries would double it. I have a Honda eu1000 generator. It is very light and very quiet. It will run the basics and charge your battery. It will not run a microwave or an AC unit. It works well for me.
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 06:39 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
GlenCoombe's Avatar
 
1984 28' Funeral Coach
Belleview , Florida
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,635
Images: 27
Everyone agrees that a Honda 2000 or 2 will do just about anything they need. BTW 2 is what you'll need if you want to run A/C.
__________________
Glen Coombe AIR #8416
1984 28' Funeral Coach
Former Rolling Showroom & PuttLab (now party bus)
"I'm not an expert. But I did sleep in an Airstream last night."
GlenCoombe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 06:44 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Fyrzowt's Avatar
 
2000 25' Safari
West of Fort Worth , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,697
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by kontiki
I was not plugged into shore power. The basics would be lights,waterpump, perhaps furnace fan. Water heater and furnace are gas.
The furnace can be a large battery consumer. Add that to the lights, waterpump. T.V. and anything else you may use, it does add up quickly.
You may also have a weak battery. Make sure you have it charged fully with a battery charger (my preference). The vehicle connection just doesn't do much for charging batteries. Your converter may when you're plugged in, depending on type.
Here's a good link for everything 12 volt, including batteries.

The 12volt Side of Life (Part 1)

Good luck,
Dave
__________________
Fyrzowt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 07:05 PM   #8
2 Rivet Member
 
1976 31' Sovereign
St Petersburg , Florida
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlenCoombe
Everyone agrees that a Honda 2000 or 2 will do just about anything they need. BTW 2 is what you'll need if you want to run A/C.
Would a Honda 3000 by itself run a 30amp circuit including A/C?
__________________
DreamWeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 07:12 PM   #9
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
Have you ever tried to lift an EU3000i? 2 EU2000i are much easier to carry around and gives you a spare in the unlikely event one of them should ever die.

One EU3000=25Amps Two EU2000=33Amps available.
__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 07:23 PM   #10
2 Rivet Member
 
1976 31' Sovereign
St Petersburg , Florida
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 65
I have not lifted a 3000. What I have now is about 125lbs and loud. I think I like the idea of only one unit... the 3000 looked like it would work and be quieter.Steve
__________________
DreamWeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 07:27 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
Fyrzowt's Avatar
 
2000 25' Safari
West of Fort Worth , Texas
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6,697
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamWeaver
I have not lifted a 3000. What I have now is about 125lbs and loud. I think I like the idea of only one unit... the 3000 looked like it would work and be quieter.Steve
A 3000 is 135# dry. It is quiet.
__________________
Fyrzowt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 07:28 PM   #12
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
According to Honda. THe EU3000is is 134 lbs. Light enough?
__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 07:34 PM   #13
2 Rivet Member
 
1976 31' Sovereign
St Petersburg , Florida
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 65
Is anyone using a 3000? Or are 2 2000's really the way to go.

Steve
__________________
DreamWeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2007, 07:36 PM   #14
4 Rivet Member
 
bill benton's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Mansfield , Texas
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 490
A honda 3000 puts out about 24 amps max. It will not run everything on a 30 amp circuit. It will run most Ac's It wouldn't start the compressor on my 91 AC until I had a extra starting capacitor installed. Also with altitude, and as temps climb, generator capacity gets lower.
__________________

__________________
bill benton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Onboard generator bhsl8 Generators & Solar Power 39 07-29-2003 06:31 PM
Generator Problems thenewkid64 General Motorhome Topics 27 05-07-2003 10:36 PM
Generator Paul Daugherty Airstream Motorhome Forums 19 08-09-2002 09:47 AM
Generator for a Tradewind uwe Generators & Solar Power 6 08-02-2002 09:51 AM
Take this Generator and Stuff It..... kzener40 General Motorhome Topics 8 07-24-2002 08:30 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.