Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2006, 08:36 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member
 
starflyte1's Avatar
 
2007 25' Safari FB SE
Lady Lake , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 355
Generator?

We are new to the TT, having had MHs over the last 30+ years. I just assumed that TTs had generators. Am I wrong? Now, I think I am. If TTs don't come with a gererator, is there a place made for one?

Thanks.

Pat
__________________

__________________
starflyte1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 08:42 AM   #2
RivetAddict
 
swebster's Avatar
 
1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Louisville , Kentucky
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,861
Images: 4
They typically do not have onboard generators (except fro some of the really high end toy haulers and 5th wheels)

Many TT people purchase external generators (Honda, Yamaha) connected to their shore power connection.
__________________

__________________
Steven Webster
1986 Airstream 345 Classic Motorhome
AIR 1760
swebster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 08:46 AM   #3
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
typically no.
Honda 2000 and 3000 series as well as Yamaha are popular choices.
__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 08:53 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
fastrob's Avatar
 
1976 25' Tradewind
. , AZ to Maine
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 545
It Depends

Travel Trailers (TT) tend to be cheaper, smaller, and more flexable, some would say have fewer comforts, than Motor Homes (MH). There are TT's with built in generators but I would say a very small minority. A majority of MH's have generators from what I have seen. TT Boondockers tend to have generators. We are boondockers and have a generator even though we do not move very much. That is why I say it depends. Most generators I have seen are portable. Our generator is 600lbs, I would not mount it on my 25 footer. It goes in the pickup.
Robert
__________________
fastrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 08:53 AM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
starflyte1's Avatar
 
2007 25' Safari FB SE
Lady Lake , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 355
Is there a place built in the A/S for a generator?

Pat
__________________
starflyte1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 08:54 AM   #6
More than one rivet loose
 
thecatsandi's Avatar

 
Currently Looking...
Keymar , Maryland
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,754
Not on the airstreams. mine rides in the truck.
__________________
Michelle TAC MT-0
Sarah, Snowball

Looking for a 1962 Flying Cloud

thecatsandi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 09:06 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
fastrob's Avatar
 
1976 25' Tradewind
. , AZ to Maine
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 545
Maybe

Quote:
Originally Posted by starflyte1
Is there a place built in the A/S for a generator?

Pat
There are some slick installations by Airstream with views on this Forum, see Search.
I thought about installing one, a Honda, off the propane tanks, half in the belly area with a side acess door.
In my opinion the costs do not justify the benifits. Just chain a Honda to the bumper, fill it up, plug it in and start it up. Quiet, cheap and theft resistant.
R
__________________
fastrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 10:32 AM   #8
Rivet Master<br><img src="/ugala/forums/images/5rivet.gif">
 
CanoeStream's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,279
Images: 19
Blog Entries: 3
Hi Starflyte1 -- If pulling with a truck I'd suggest putting it in the pickup bed. Don't know that you want the gasoline inside an SUV with you, which makes the propane conversion even nicer. My 40# Honda eu2000i is not up to powering the A/C but I accept the compromise with more shady sites and our cooler weather up here. I don't like to lift it up and down a lot, but won't leave it sitting out if I'm gone from the campground for a while -- that's nearly $1000 sitting there with a 'Free' sign on it. It depends somewhat on whether people in neighboring sites are going to be around or are friendly (remember, we're the millionaires!).

40# isn't a huge weight but I can lift it readily enough. I'd have to adopt a different approach for the larger generators necessary to run an A/C. I wouldn't cut into the shell of an Airstream to mount a generator -- that could drag down resale later on. This whole issue really depends on whether you are camping at non-electric sites or are boondocking. I have found that most often I leave the generator at home. Reserving and planning ahead allows me to have an electric site about every time I go out -- then there's no issue about running the air conditioner.
__________________
Bob

5 meter Langford Nahanni

CanoeStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 10:44 AM   #9
Naysayer
 
Boondocker's Avatar

 
1968 24' Tradewind
Louisville , earth
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,635
Images: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to Boondocker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Canoe stream
-- If pulling with a truck I'd suggest putting it in the pickup bed.

You know I was just thinking about this, what does everyone think about puting a mount in for the generator and propane tank in the bed of a pickup with a shell. If the door or window was open it should get enough air. Is this a bad plan?
__________________
Rodney

Visit my photography page
and the
Favorite camp grounds project map
My Blog

(The artist formerly known as General Disarray)

Boondocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 11:07 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
peegreen's Avatar
 
1998 31' Excella 1000
South Berwick , Maine
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 707
I know a few people run their portable propane powered gensets in their P/U beds with the lift gate open. As optional equipment, Airstreams in the '70's were available with a factory installed generator. I think the capacity was only large enough to recharge the batteries. Solar would also be an option as long as there's sun.
__________________
WBCCI 24291
New England Unit
Metropolitan NY Unit
peegreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 11:07 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
1976 25' Caravanner
Vintage Kin Owner
Campton , New Hampshire
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gen Disarray
You know I was just thinking about this, what does everyone think about puting a mount in for the generator and propane tank in the bed of a pickup with a shell. If the door or window was open it should get enough air. Is this a bad plan?

That's how I run mine ( honda 2000 ) , no problem that I have seen .
__________________
ticki2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 11:22 AM   #12
4 Rivet Member
 
starflyte1's Avatar
 
2007 25' Safari FB SE
Lady Lake , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 355
We just bought a Surburban, so can't put it in the back. But, hope to figure out a way to carry and use a generator that is easy to use. We like to stop and have lunch or go into a place to eat and need the a/c for our Yorkies. I guess the most important use of the generator is for our Yorkies.
Living in South Florida makes a/c really necessary.

I am sure that something can be worked out. Thanks for all the replies and information!

Pat
__________________
starflyte1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 11:39 AM   #13
Rivet Master<br><img src="/ugala/forums/images/5rivet.gif">
 
CanoeStream's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,279
Images: 19
Blog Entries: 3
Rodney -- I've read about that being done fairly often. I would have to use my RV extension cord to reach. Sure makes more sense to me than having genset exhaust onboard an RV, within close distance of windows, etc. The imposition of noise and vibration on the trailer also would bug me, even with newer, quieter gensets like Honda or Yamaha.
__________________
Bob

5 meter Langford Nahanni

CanoeStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 11:42 AM   #14
Rivet Master<br><img src="/ugala/forums/images/5rivet.gif">
 
CanoeStream's Avatar

 
2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 13,279
Images: 19
Blog Entries: 3
starflyte1 -- You've maybe read, but A/C startup load requires 30 amps (actually more like 24, but...). The compressor struggles and gradually destroys itself on startups if the amperage isn't there. You have to size your generator accordingly. My Honda eu2000i was selected with the understanding that it could not power an A/C unit.
__________________

__________________
Bob

5 meter Langford Nahanni

CanoeStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Onboard generator bhsl8 Generators & Solar Power 39 07-29-2003 06:31 PM
Generator Problems thenewkid64 General Motorhome Topics 27 05-07-2003 10:36 PM
Generator Paul Daugherty Airstream Motorhome Forums 19 08-09-2002 09:47 AM
Generator for a Tradewind uwe Generators & Solar Power 6 08-02-2002 09:51 AM
Take this Generator and Stuff It..... kzener40 General Motorhome Topics 8 07-24-2002 08:30 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.