Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2013, 06:48 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
GettinAway's Avatar
 
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Chesterfield , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 835
Best way to run a generator

I bought a Honda 2000 generator, just for charging the batteries when we are dry camping.
It came with cables, I assume I can hook up to the batteries, but that does not seem right.
I'm assuming I need to hookup the generator to a battery charger (plug it in) and put a charge in each battery, one at a time.
I guess it's best not to let the batteries get too low, so on a one week trip, charge them, once or twice.


Thanks,
Jeff
__________________

__________________
GettinAway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 06:51 PM   #2
cwf
Rivet Master
 
cwf's Avatar
 
1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5,928
Images: 2
Jeff, howdy!


I don't know about direct connect to battery from any AC power source. That would be "crossing the streams" in Ghost Buster speak. Bad

Now that we understand that... Explain your cables to us. Where do they come from on your generator? What are they labeled?
__________________

__________________
Peace and Blessings..
Channing
WBCCI# 30676
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 06:58 PM   #3
cwf
Rivet Master
 
cwf's Avatar
 
1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5,928
Images: 2
Update.

I see that Honda offers a 12VDC Unregulated charge option. Is this what you have?

Seems to me I would rather let converter recharge AS batteries. Just plug in your generator to your AS! Or bring along a dedicated battery charger for charging external batteries.
__________________
Peace and Blessings..
Channing
WBCCI# 30676
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 07:02 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
1981 31' Excella II
New Market , Alabama
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5,648
Well just plug the trailer in and let the converter do the charging. The output from the converter 12V power supply is probably larger than the 12V output coming from the generator.

Perry
__________________
perryg114 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 07:09 PM   #5
4 Rivet Member
 
arktos55343's Avatar
 
1972 25' Tradewind
Hopkins , Minnesota
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 457
If you got the straight 2000i, you will have to buy an adapter to plug in your 30 amp cord (15 amp to 30 amp adapter). Then just plug your AS into the 2000i, and let the converter recharge your batteries. If you bought the 2000i Companion, it has a 30 amp outlet, but you will still need an adapter (30 amp twist connection to 30 amp RV connection). The 12v plug on the 2000i is for recharging/starting dead car batteries...and doesn't have the regulated output to best charge your AS batteries.

That's my take. I have the 2000i and the Companion for future boon-docking.
__________________
arktos55343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 07:31 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
boondockdad's Avatar
 
2008 30' Classic S/O
Dearborn , Michigan
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,295
Images: 21
Not trying to hijack, but this might be relevant, as well.
How many of you 'ground' your genny?

Before I sold my EF2400iS (LP converted ) I would drive a 4' grounding rod into the ground, connected with some #6 AWG bare copper wire.

Never had any issues, just rarely used it. My pair of group 31's outlasted the holding tanks
__________________
boondockdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 08:09 PM   #7
4 Rivet Member
 
arktos55343's Avatar
 
1972 25' Tradewind
Hopkins , Minnesota
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 457
I will have to do that when I set up my gennies.
__________________
arktos55343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 06:17 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
GettinAway's Avatar
 
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Chesterfield , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 835
Wow! Thanks for all the feedback. I might have a bad converter. I've gone through two batteries in the last year by leaving the trailer plugged in, and the isolator switched to run. The batteries boil over, I can tell by the smell.
I was going to quit charging through the converter.
The unregulated cables that I ordered with the generator would be fine for jump starting a dead car battery, I guess. I'll not use them for charging.
I was thinking I had to go with a battery charger plugged into the generator, but I think I have to charge one at a time. It just seems like a time consuming, and labor intensive process.
Jeff
__________________
GettinAway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 06:28 AM   #9
CLOUDSPLITTER "Tahawas"
 
ROBERT CROSS's Avatar

 
2003 25' Classic
Zanadude Nebula , WNY
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,153
Images: 1
You have a bad converter, in the sense that it does not have a float charging mode, a new 3 stage unit will solve the battery boiling.

Give Randy a call at Best Converter for recommendations.


Bob
__________________
PFC.....

ďAfter all these years the reason I continue to love Thanksgiving.....I still sit at the kids table.Ē
RLC

Sandra wanted to go to Cleveland on vacation,
but Iím the Husband, so we went to Cleveland.
RLC
ROBERT CROSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 05:51 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
GettinAway's Avatar
 
2011 23' FB Flying Cloud
Chesterfield , Missouri
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 835
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROBERT CROSS View Post
You have a bad converter, in the sense that it does not have a float charging mode, a new 3 stage unit will solve the battery boiling.

Give Randy a call at Best Converter for recommendations.


Bob
Thanks Bob,
My trailer is still under warranty, but it doesn't make sense to replace the bad converter with one just like it. I'll give Randy a call. Is the install pretty difficult?
Thanks agin,
Jeff
__________________
GettinAway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 06:15 AM   #11
CLOUDSPLITTER "Tahawas"
 
ROBERT CROSS's Avatar

 
2003 25' Classic
Zanadude Nebula , WNY
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,153
Images: 1
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by GettinAway View Post
Thanks Bob,
My trailer is still under warranty, but it doesn't make sense to replace the bad converter with one just like it. I'll give Randy a call. Is the install pretty difficult?
Thanks agin,
Jeff
Jeff,

It wasn't a difficult swap with our Classic, it uses a stand alone converter with separate distribution/fuse panel, not sure how yours is equipped. Either way it's not all that difficult.

I used an IOTA IQ4 DLS 55a from Best Converter.


Give Randy a call, he won't steer you wrong on the best option for your needs.

Bob
__________________
PFC.....

ďAfter all these years the reason I continue to love Thanksgiving.....I still sit at the kids table.Ē
RLC

Sandra wanted to go to Cleveland on vacation,
but Iím the Husband, so we went to Cleveland.
RLC
ROBERT CROSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 08:46 AM   #12
2 Rivet Member
 
2018 23' Flying Cloud
Eagle Creek , OR
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 86
Send a message via Skype™ to almcate
I think AS switched to 3-stage converter at some point, or maybe on some models. Reading the manual, I *think* my 2010 CCD has a float mode... but is there anyway to tell by looking at the panel?
__________________
almcate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 03:42 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
boondockdad's Avatar
 
2008 30' Classic S/O
Dearborn , Michigan
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,295
Images: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROBERT CROSS View Post
Jeff,

It wasn't a difficult swap with our Classic, it uses a stand alone converter with separate distribution/fuse panel, not sure how yours is equipped. Either way it's not all that difficult.

I used an IOTA IQ4 DLS 55a from Best Converter.


Give Randy a call, he won't steer you wrong on the best option for your needs.

Bob
Nice... it's sooo tidy in there!
__________________
boondockdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 06:13 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
TinShack's Avatar

 
2005 28' Safari S/O
Paradise , California
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,438
Images: 28
x2 on Bob's suggestion to contact Bestconverter. I upgraded my stock Parallax single stage converter to a Progressive Dynamics Intellipower 3 stage converter about 3 years ago. Bestconverter is great to deal with and provide detailed instructions on doing the upgrade. It took me about 30-45 minutes to swap mine out. When I did the upgrade, I also put in some Lifeline AGM batteries. I leave my trailer plugged in all the time at home now and no problems.

As far as the genny goes, just plug the trailer 30 amp cord into the 2000i using a 30 to 15 amp adapter.
__________________

__________________
Steve
"THE OLDER I GET, THE BETTER I WAS"
TinShack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.