Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2008, 09:32 AM   #1
Rivet Master
 
mandolindave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,115
Images: 4
30 amp service at home

I have installed the 2" conduit, now the fun begins. I am installing the 30 amp serviice, along with a switchable 20 amp circuit for lighting, on a pole near the camper. The RV outlet from Connecticut Electric came with no wiring diagram. Which contact is hot? Also I would be very interested and appreciative for any photos of outlet boxes and such that others members are using.
P.S. I have tried the search function using all kinds of variations of keywords and the first 3 suggested threads were a rally, a music poll, and a word challenge game. I pity the newbie who asks a question only to get told to use the search function. I never have much luck with that.
__________________

__________________
mandolindave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 09:46 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
Elgin , Texas
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 800
Images: 164
Hi Dave. Typically the outlet connector screws will be different in color - the hot lead will be a gold screw, the neutral is silver, and the ground is green.

Here is the external orientation.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN3917-30AmpSocket.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	57.3 KB
ID:	61081  
__________________

__________________

bake315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 09:49 AM   #3
2 Rivet Member
 
Old_Town's Avatar
 
2005 25' Safari
North East , Texas
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 43
Look at the screws

The gold colored screw is always the hot and the silver colored is always the neutral and of course the green screw is the ground.
__________________
Old_Town is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 10:48 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
mandolindave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,115
Images: 4
Thanks for the speedy reply

My screws are red and silver. Obviously the red is hot. Your diagram is most helpful for a guy like me who has one screw loose.
I would be interested in any other pictures of outlet setups.
__________________
mandolindave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 11:08 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
Elgin , Texas
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 800
Images: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by mandolindave
My screws are red and silver. Obviously the red is hot. Your diagram is most helpful for a guy like me who has one screw loose.
I would be interested in any other pictures of outlet setups.
I did my own install recently. I'll try to get a snapshot of it for you.
__________________

bake315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 11:28 AM   #6
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,124
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
Since my breakers are located close to where I stage and destage my trailer my setup was a piece of cake. I attached the outlet in an outdoor box under the panel. Total wire length of wire is less then 1 foot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1568.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	168.9 KB
ID:	61084  
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 12:41 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Over59's Avatar
 
1959 26' Overlander
Putnam , Connecticut
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,064
Images: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by mandolindave
I have installed the 2" conduit, now the fun begins. I am installing the 30 amp serviice, along with a switchable 20 amp circuit for lighting, on a pole near the camper. The RV outlet from Connecticut Electric came with no wiring diagram. Which contact is hot? Also I would be very interested and appreciative for any photos of outlet boxes and such that others members are using.
P.S. I have tried the search function using all kinds of variations of keywords and the first 3 suggested threads were a rally, a music poll, and a word challenge game. I pity the newbie who asks a question only to get told to use the search function. I never have much luck with that.
What size wire are you using and how long is the run to the main panel? Are you planning on doing the hook up on the panel side yourself?
__________________
Over59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 01:20 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
mandolindave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,115
Images: 4
I am comfortable around the panel...BUT.....

I might enlist a friend who is licensed, for the panel connection. I like the ring of Mandolindave much more than Sparkydave. But if you have any tips on the panel connection, please do pass them along to me. The outside run is 48', adding the inside run and the run up the pole adds up to 75'. I am using 8 gauge underground cable.
The project is multi purpose. The lady of the house doesn't care for air conditioning, but if it gets hot I would like a cool place to hang out. I am also putting in lighting for the campfire area and huge motion detector light so she knows when bear are doing things in my yard insead of the woods where they are supposed to. Soon I will be breaking ground for the barn, and I will want electric there as well.
__________________
mandolindave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 02:18 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
Over59's Avatar
 
1959 26' Overlander
Putnam , Connecticut
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,064
Images: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by mandolindave
I might enlist a friend who is licensed, for the panel connection. I like the ring of Mandolindave much more than Sparkydave. But if you have any tips on the panel connection, please do pass them along to me. The outside run is 48', adding the inside run and the run up the pole adds up to 75'. I am using 8 gauge underground cable.
The project is multi purpose. The lady of the house doesn't care for air conditioning, but if it gets hot I would like a cool place to hang out. I am also putting in lighting for the campfire area and huge motion detector light so she knows when bear are doing things in my yard insead of the woods where they are supposed to. Soon I will be breaking ground for the barn, and I will want electric there as well.
You may want to check this out.

Copper.org: Electrical: Energy Efficiency - One Wire Size Up Means Big Savings
__________________
Over59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 03:04 PM   #10
4 Rivet Member
 
elbundi's Avatar
 
2005 25' International CCD
Leesburg , Georgia
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Over59

i just read that article and feel that i may have under sized my wire.
unlike azflycaster i had to make a 250ft run to my staging area. i got a quote from a spark for installing a 30A for RV and 20A GFCI for pool then decided to DIY the most of it. I then called in a favor from a friend to wire the receptacles in.
considering the fridge is the only constant draw, is the 10/2 that was recommend fat enough for 30A?
__________________
elbundi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 04:23 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
Elgin , Texas
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 800
Images: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by elbundi
i just read that article and feel that i may have under sized my wire.
unlike azflycaster i had to make a 250ft run to my staging area. i got a quote from a spark for installing a 30A for RV and 20A GFCI for pool then decided to DIY the most of it. I then called in a favor from a friend to wire the receptacles in.
considering the fridge is the only constant draw, is the 10/2 that was recommend fat enough for 30A?
10/2 seems awfully light for a 250' run. Regardless of the draw from the refrigerator, if you have roof air (or want to have it in the future) I think you're definitely going to come up short in amp capacity.
__________________

bake315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 04:38 PM   #12
Site Team
 
azflycaster's Avatar
 
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 12,124
Images: 62
Blog Entries: 1
You can plug your numbers into this calculator to determine the wire size required. 5 amps is the max for 250 feet with #10 wire. Your refrigerator may only pull 5 amps, but don't forget your converter will draw a couple of amps too.
__________________

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2008, 10:10 PM   #13
4 Rivet Member
 
elbundi's Avatar
 
2005 25' International CCD
Leesburg , Georgia
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 292
Images: 5
re assessing the situation

although it was a reputable company that made the quote, i am going to re-evaluate

hindsight says running 2 inch conduit with 6 gauge wire would've been the smarter choice.
we're moving house so may just retire that particular line and let it be.
__________________

__________________
elbundi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C & G Trailer Service, Bellflower, CA Safari-Rick Commercial Listings 18 05-31-2014 06:49 PM
Axle Alignment & other service ?s dpandorf Axles 0 05-15-2008 11:58 AM
30 Amp service at home 68 Overlander Commercial Listings 0 07-16-2007 12:13 AM
hook-up options for a 50 amp service nyulman Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 4 01-13-2007 10:45 AM
50 amp service available mtnman Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 10 04-29-2006 06:11 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.