Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-24-2002, 07:55 PM   #1
overlander

two tiny orange lights on left front side trailer

on the front left side of my trailer there are two small lights inside a black rubber grommet thingy there looks like there use to be a cover for it. the bulbs are orange. this isn't one of the running lights or park lights. what is it for? i cand get it to do anything and can't figure out what its for.
its a 1977 air stream overlander
Old 09-24-2002, 08:15 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

discussion in progress...

Hi Overlander, check this thread for the info you seek:

LED thread

I don't know if it worked (fingers crossed) I'm rather new at this.
Dave-O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2002, 09:36 AM   #3
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
What you described is the "tail light monitor system." It is NOT LED'S, but it is "fiber optics."

Andy
inlandrv.com
airstreamparts.com
Inland RV Center, In is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2002, 08:34 PM   #4
overlander

thanks

thanks guys i wasn't sure what they where for and i wasn't about to tear things apart to find out. i'm going to try it out tonight and see if it does anything. hey i thought they were LED's too, they look like it when you glance at them.
Old 10-01-2002, 06:12 AM   #5
Still Working

1994 36' Classic 36
North Charleston , South Carolina
Tail light repair

While troubleshooting my tail lights this weekend, I discovered how the fiber optic feed fits into the tail light.

My "feed" had fallen out of the socket on street side and the feed on the curbside had deformed so light was not passing.

Let me explain deform.....