Old 11-12-2013, 11:53 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
1976 Argosy 26
Squamish , British Columbia
Trailer lights and fridge not working??

Hi, I'm brand new to this. Just bought my argosy this summer with the intention to move in by Jan 1. I tried to take it camping after a few minor renovations, and my trailer lights aren't working. The trailer brakes seem to be functioning fine. I also discovered that the fridge works fine on propane, but not on electric. Is this common? Could they maybe be the same problem? Maybe a grounding problem? Any insight is appreciated.

I've double checked that the fridge is plugged in to a power source that works, and the gas knobs are all off, the electric knobs are all on... Temperature is on max. Nothing after 2 days...

Liesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 06:21 AM   #2
Figment of My Imagination
2012 Interstate Coach
Metairie , Louisiana
Basic rules of troubleshooting:
1 - Check the easy things first. No need to make the job more complicated if you don't have to.
2 - Check the most likely things first. Occam's Razoró the simplest answer is usually right.

Luckily in this case, both rules agree. If you've got a problem with multiple electrical systems, first place to look is the batteries, which may be stony dead or may have a bad connection.

You don't say if the trailer lights that aren't working are interior lights or taillights/brake lights. I'm assuming the taillights and brake lights work because the brakes work, and both are powered by the tow vehicle, not by the trailer.

Also, does the problem persist when you're hooked up to shore power? If everything works on shore power but not on batteries, then you know for sure the problem is in the batteries, either a dead battery or a bad connection to the battery.

WBCCI #1105

Engineering: Finding complex solutions to simple problems you didn't even know you had.
Protagonist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 06:25 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1991 34' Excella